Want a photo for my website, how much should it cost

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by thedon1, Sep 7, 2013.

1. thedon1, Sep 7, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2013

thedon1 macrumors 6502

Hi guys, i'm new to the photography world and had a question.

I'm looking to create a website and want an image for my homepage which basically has a few things on a desk, one of them being an iPhone with my upcoming app.

I don't have the photography equipment or knowledge to create a good looking shot but have seen some nice ones on 500px.

If i requested this shot from a photographer, how much should I be looking to pay? I literally have no idea what the market rate is so any guidance would be great.

Thanks

Basically, I want this type of shot with my choice of picture on the phone. The phone can be laying down. I really like the backdrop of the mac keyboard and mouse.
    [​IMG]

2. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

Apple fanboy

Not a pro, but you could get a student photographer who would do this for a few bucks or a professional studio who would want $1000's.
    It really depends on what you want to pay. Someone with a professional lighting rig would be able to do a better job, but your requirement doesn't sound that difficult.

3. Phrasikleia macrumors 601

Phrasikleia

If you simply needed a product isolated on a white background, you could get that done for very little ($50 or less), but what you are describing is more 'commercial' photography than product photography. Since you need the desk as well, the sophistication, props, and equipment requirements go way up. For something that looks very polished and professional, you should probably be thinking of a middle-of-the-road price falling somewhere around $500. You can probably get it done for half of that, but unless you get lucky, the results may not be terribly impressive.