Want storage solution 10-15TB

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Varmann, Mar 23, 2010.

1. Varmann macrumors member

I am interested in getting a better storage solution than I have today,
    but I am a bit confused about viable alternatives.
    I am also a raid newbie (I have so far regarded raid as
    "yet another layer that can go wrong").

I want:
    - Storage solution for that can handle >10TB data
    - Possibility to expand up to 15TB
    - Security is a priority, with a possibility for off-site backup.
    - No real need for high bandwidth
    - Budget $3000-4000 (excluding discs)

What I have today:
    MacPro 2x2.8 '08, 16GB ram
    Internal: 1 Intel SSD boot, 5 x 2TB WD (green non-raid) in single disk setup
    Sonnet Tempo E4P Esata card
    External: 2 Esata cabinets (Sonnet+ Firmtech) each with 5x2 TB disks JBOD.

Some of my thoughts:
    Using 2, or even better 2x2 , external sata cabinets for backup.
    Some sort of raid solution as main storage on my Macpro, with a capacity
    equal to 6x2TB. Using an external cabinet seems necessary(?).

I would be very happy for suggestions and advice!

2. norbiegee macrumors newbie

Cheap Storage

Check out Data Robotics.
    Drobo.com

My company just bought a second unit. You can use your SATA drives in any combination. Works well and its is really, really cheap.

Total unit with 16 TB storage (Drobo Elite with 8 2TB Drives) was about 4200.00

2 iSCSI ports.

If you want Firewire 800 go to a DroboPro and that is a bit cheaper.

3. sgunes macrumors member

Look also into building a custom storage/media server.
    The best bang for your buck case is the Norco 4220 with 20 hotswap 3 1/2 bays. It costs about $350 +S&H at newegg and $300 + S&H at mwave.
    I built a media server with it using left over motherboards and CPU. You can use any operating system from Ubuntu server to UnRAID or even Windows :)eek:).
    I filled mine up with 20+3 2TB drives (WD GP and Seagate about 10 each).