Want to clone MacOS leopard AND Bootcamp to larger drive

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by kristenanne77, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. kristenanne77 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #1
    I have a Macbook (about a year and a half old) with 250 G hard drive which is partitioned in half. One half has Mac Os (leopard) and the other bootcamp partition is Windoze xp. I use both equally.

    I am planning to get a 500-750 G 2.5 inch hard drive and clone my entire hard drive to it so I will have more room (and also a good backup if the need ever arises).

    Since my drive has BOTH the Mac os and the bootcamp partiton with windoze on it, I need to clone them both over to the new drive. I believe superduper just clones the OS portion and I really don't want to re-install the windows stuff unless i have to! I read that winclone can clone the windoze partitian.

    SO THIS IS MY PLAN ... I AM NOT SURE IF THIS WILL WORK so i would appreciate any feedback on this before i try doing this. Is this right? Did I leave anything out? Is there a better way?

    1. Get new larger drive and put in a separate powered enclosure
    2. Connect to my macbook with usb connector
    3. Use superduper to clone the Mac Os to the new drive.
    4. Use Winclone to clone the bootcamp (windoze) partition to the new drive
    5. Replace the old smaller drive with the new drive.

    I think this would work, but am not sure how or when i have to partition the new drive to work with winclone ... or does winclone do this automatically?

    Thanks
    K
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    That should work. I think you have to partition the drive before you start any cloning, i.e. as soon as you plug the drive in, go to Disk Utility and partition it. Then you'll clone each OS onto its own partition.
     
  3. kristenanne77 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #3
    Thanks Much. Will give it a try hopefully within the next week or two.

    K
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    Yes, that will work, but you will have to use Boot Camp Assistant to create the Windows partition again. Once you do, you can use Winclone to restore to that partition.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  5. kristenanne77 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #5
    OK
    So far in my plan to get the two operating systems into a larger drive:

    1. I put the new larger disk in a usb enclosure
    2. Used Disk Utility to make the external drive readable
    3. Used SuperDuper to clone the OSX system.
    4. I rebooted from the new external drive.
    It works good, just like the internal drive,
    GOOD TO HERE
    5. Then my plan was to put a "bootcamp partition" on the external drive - the one i just booted from -
    I tried this and Bootcamp assistant WOULD NOT allow me to put a bootcamp partition on this external drive.
    I then tried booting from the internal drive to use bootcamp assistant to put a partition on the external drive , but the only drive it would let me put a partition on was the internal one - which would ultimately wipe out my windows stuff so i didn't do that!
    Is there any other way I can get a partition on this external drive so i can use winclone???

    Thanks
    K
     
  6. bob2131 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #6
    got the drive. im ready, almost.

    when i plug the new hard drive(enclosure) to mac, do i use disc utility to format it? format it to what? i think my macbook internal is currently HFS+
    Do i make the partitions now? or clone osx and windows first?

    super duper sounds easy.
    then i will use winclone.

    regarding windows bootcamp:
    do i clone windows to extenal first?
    or do i fit the new drive in and THEN clone from original (via enclosure) ?

    but when do i actually do the partitioning for new drive?
    does bootcamp assistant make the partition?
    or do i have to do it via disc utility?

    my current windows partition is 50gb.
    after ive cloned windows, can i make the new bootcamp partition as bigger eg 100gb? and then just clone the windows over, no probs?

    ive read that we can resize bootcamp partition after anyway, by cloning, deleting, re-making size, cloning back image...... so this applies to my situation doesnt it?

    cheers
     
  7. fibrizo macrumors 6502

    fibrizo

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #7
    I don't user superduper, but it should work the same way. I personally use CarbonCopyCloner for the mac partition. (Funny I've done this 2x already 250 -> 320gb ->500gb with bootcamp partitions)

    1. I usually put the new drive in an external enclosure. Then I partition the drive with diskutil, GUID (<- important, as it will work with almost any setting for mac os, but won't allow you to bootcamp partition otherwise) Make 1 whole partition covering the whole drive and format to mac os x extended etc.

    2. Then Use carboncopycloner/superduper to copy over your mac partition. At this point I usually swap the drives, put the old one into the external drive and the new one into the mac. Then I try to boot the new drive. (it will be a little slower on first boot as it does a few things I think). Confirm you have all your stuff and it runs (other than windows)

    3. Once you boot back into mac os on the new drive, run bootcamp assistant. And make a partiton of the new size you want (ie 750gb on a 1tb drive to hold all the windows bloat :)) Don't put in a disc to install and quit out of it.

    4. Then run winclone, and as I recall, I could be wrong, you have to make an image of the old windows partition. (if you got a larger drive this should not be a problem) it will create a 50gb image (if your windows partition was 50gb). Create this image on your new drive in the computer on the mac partition (You should have room here since you upgraded, if not, then if you have all the files on your new drive, you can delete the files on the old mac partition on the old drive (which is external now) and create the image there.

    5. Then using winclone, restore the image to your now enlarged bootcamp partition. It should automatically enlarge to take up all the free space. If not, under tool there's an option to expand the filesystem.

    One caveat is that winclone kinda works with windows 7, but not entirely, it makes a generic bootloader which is win vista based. win xp and win vista should work fine. (win 7 will boot and run, but you gotta fix the bootloader to win 7 after)

    6. Now you can reboot and hold option and see if your windows partition boots. if it boots and all your stuff is there and works fine, then you're done,

    Now just one thought for you, I now make a much larger bootcamp partition vs my mac partition, ie on my 500gb drive I do 200gb mac, 300gb windows. I grew tired of resizing the partitions, and I realize that mac os x doesn't grow as fast as windows. Also I install ntfs-3g and it mounts both drives at boot up with read and write, so that I can access the stuff from mac os. So I actually store most of the stuff on the windows partition. If you find yourself having problems with needing to resize your bootcamp partition, it's probably better to make a bigger one than what you think you will need, because after you've done this once, you'll realize that it's not hard, just really time consuming. You can still use the extra space from mac os to store files this way so no space is wasted.

    Good luck!
     
  8. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #8
    None that I know of that works reliably.

    The easiest way, is to put your new HD inside your laptop. Then use BootCamp Assistant to create the Windows partition. Then use WinClone to restore your image.
     
  9. bob2131 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #9
    from winclone site:
    When I restore the image, do I need to format the partition/volume prior to using Winclone?
    No. When you restore the image, it will restore the filesystem as well.


    ---------------
    some people on mac rumors are saying use bootcamp assistnat to make the partition.
    but ive read internet tutorials where it says just restore using winclone, with no mention of usingbootcamp assistant.

    whats the definitive answer?

    use winclone to make exact partition size as before.
    and use bootcamp assitant to increase size.

    ?
     
  10. bob2131 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #10
    thanks alot.
    i didnt see the guid option, thats only for when partitioning. i just formatted to osx journalled extended. looking at the drive now, yes it says guid partition table, so i guess it defaulted to this.
    should i have made a single partition using guid? looks like its done it already right?
    is there a diff with erasing to journalled extenended....compared to making a 1 partition HFS+ ?
    there was no hfs+ option for me either.

    so partitioning and formatting are two different processes, right?

    i didnt partition. apple site said not to. also mac rumores guide said not to.
    they said bootcamp assistant needs to do it.
    but winclone says nobody needs to do it!! im confused.

    but almost there.
    i have my new big hard drive in my mac now, super duper did the job.
    very happy. also i have my windows xp bootcamp winclone clone file on my new mac internal drive too. So just need to restore windows.
    not sure whether to just restore using winclone.....or to make the partition with bootcamp assistant.....


    regarding your last paragraph
    yeah i hear you, but i dont use my windows much. thought i would, but just sometimes. i reallly dont like using windows anymore. i prefer osx in every way. just have some pc only stuff so thats why. it has its uses.
    50gb partition should be fine.......if i need to increase it later on, i can just winclone it to external, delete bootcamp, re partition with bootcamp to bigger size, restore the clone.....thats a fairly simple processs.

    thanks.
     
  11. fibrizo macrumors 6502

    fibrizo

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #11
    Ok sorry for the confusion. When I say partition the drive. I assume the new drive is unformatted, unpartitioned, brand new. You need to create partition on the drive to use it (imagine making down property lines so people know where to build) After you partition it GUID (it actually will let you do MBR (pc) Or apple partition table(old power pc) all of these actually seem to work for making 1 partition and booting mac OS. However if you do not do GUID, bootcamp doesn't work and won't be able to make a new partition. So after this is done You'd format (ie choose what kind of sod you're going to put down on your property) You chose mac os journaled extended, which is correct.

    So all that is done. Now you need to use bootcamp assistant to make a partition as per step 3.

    Then don't install an os there, and run winclone to restore the image you made of your old bootcamp partition into it. Winclone has the capability of creating a partition itself, but I don't trust it as much as bootcamp itself.
     
  12. bob2131 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #12
    yes the drive was brand new.
    but i DID NOT partition it.
    I just erased (formatted it to mac os extended journalled)
    GUID was never an option.

    so isnt erasing hard drive the same thing as making one HSF+ partition?
    becuase it looks like i am sorted. Yet i did not partition.
    Ive read that journalled extended is the same thing as HSF+.

    youre saying partition it first and THEN format.
    shouldnt it be the other way around? new drive needs to be formatted first i think.

    please read my previous post. ive explained things. how i did it and why.

    i basically have a new drive in my macbook now. i did not partition it. OSX super dupered it. Working fine. Swapped over. Now i also have winclone clone on my internal drive. Havnt restored windows yet.

    ive checked info on new drive, it says it is GUID partition tabled, so i guess it happened by defualt when i erased it.

    cheers (sorry to be a pain)
     
  13. bob2131 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #13
    problem problem problem

    tried restoring winclone said no partition created.
    so then i created a partition with bootcamp.
    and it defaulted to ms dos fat32.
    then i tried to restore winclone, said error. check log.... i think it said something about wrong partition format....cant remember... basically couldnt restore.

    why does bootcamp default making the partition to fat32?

    i thought winclone would sort out the file partition.

    ive just deleted the bootcamp partition now.

    will i have to start again and make 2 partitions with disc utility?

    but apple site and mac rumors guide say to NOT make partition with disc utility..... and to let bootcamp do it......

    im confused.

    please help.
     
  14. fibrizo macrumors 6502

    fibrizo

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #14
    Quick check list. Go Disk utility and select your Hard drive (not mac HD etc, but the disk) At the botteom of the windows it should say Partition Map scheme: GUID Partition table. Is that correct?

    Also this seems to be a known issue with winclone and 10.6.

    You can check the forums on twocanoes.com

    someone posted a workaround.

    Yay, I got it to work... with a workaraound:
    - Converted Windows partition to NTFS and made a new image (this step is probably not necessary, it should work with FAT32 partitions - the known restrictions still applying, of course.)
    - Installed Leopard 10.5 on an external drive, and booted from there
    - Installed Winclone on the 10.5 external drive and and restored image to an internal 70GB bootacamp partition, previously created in Snow Leopard
    - Since I have re-created my image using NTFS instead of FAT32, the image is automatically expanded to use all the space in the 70GB partition.
    This way is a bit more time consuming, but easy to do and most of all, it works flawlessly
     
  15. bob2131 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #15
    sorry .. my mistake.
    i chose the wrong destination for the winclone.

    ive just cloned windows successfully with winclone.
    havnt tested it yet though.

    ps. yes it says guid partion table, on the main fujitsu drive.....when i select the partitions, this info is not listed.
     

Share This Page