Want to switch, but I am worried.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Bootsie, Feb 29, 2008.

1. Bootsie macrumors 6502a

Bootsie

I am currently using am HP notebook computer, I really want to make the switch to a Macbook Pro, but I am a little worried and have a few questions.

1. Is it easy to make the switch? i.e. will my files and things be easy to switch over? Will I have problems with the Macbook Pro being able to read them. Can I just put all my files on my external hard drive and plug it into the Mac to transfer them?

2. Will it be hard for me to get used to it? I have always been a PC user (except for the nice green screen Macs we had in elementary school :)) so I am worried about learning a whole new operating system. I do however consider myself computer savvy, I usually learn new programs very quickly without any help.

3. I am a photographer, and I use Photoshop a ton, I am planning on using Adobe's wonderful service of switching my windows discs for Mac discs. I there anything that I should think about here?

4. I have a TV tuner on my current Laptop, and I love that. (except that I cannot really use it anymore because it is an analog tuner :rolleyes:) I have looked at the eyeTV hybrid that is on the Apple store, does anyone have any experience with that or any other TV tuners for the Mac. I do not have satellite or cable, but I have an antenna in the attic, and we get good HDTV signal from the local networks so that is what I would want to take advantage of. (If I didn't have to have the computer hooked up to the coaxial cable from the antenna that would be even better)

5. I don't know whether I should go with Matte or glossy screen, i know this question has been asked a million times, but the consensus seems to be for photos go with matte, for movies go with glossy. But I use my computer for both of these things nearly everyday. So what should I do?