Want to upgrade Lacie 2biq quadra

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ScuseMe, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. ScuseMe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I bought my 2-1TB Lacie 2big quadra in 2009. A few months ago I got a drive failure that even DiskWarrior couldn't recover from. Since I have redundant backups, I bought another drive (this time a 2tb Lacie single drive) and it's been working well for many months.

    But since I have this beautiful aluminum case on the 2big quadra just sitting gathering dust. I thought I'd triple its capacity by putting 2 Seagate 3TB Barracuda 7200k's in it (the 2 original drives were 1TB Barracuda's). I opened a trouble ticket with Lacie and got no help (i.e. it would void the warranty, the RAID might not work, the drives might not work), just a bunch of naysaying gloom. I even asked if their was a firmware upgrade for the chassis, but he didn't reply to that question (nothing's listed on Lacie's web site).

    Has anyone upgraded their 1TB Lacie 2big quadra with larger drives? The current 2big quadra's go up to 6TB 2-3TB. I would upgrade the power supply to take the larger drives (mine came with a 4A output; Lacie's selling a 4.6A with the drive now.

    If nobody's sure i can upgrade, maybe you could suggest a good external chassis that's quiet (big fan) and that can take 2-3tb drives. Not NAS, just FW800 (I'd connect it to my 2009 iMac).

    Thanks.
     
  2. ScuseMe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #2
    I guess I could just order the drives from Amazon and try them. If they don;t work, then send them back. But I hate to do all that if someone here has tried upgrading to larger drives and failed. Then I could look for other solutions.
     
  3. popmongrel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    #3
    Upgrading LaCie 2Big quadra to 6TB

    Hi,

    I just bought two seagate barracuda 7200rpm drives and put them into my 2010 LaCie 2big quadra. So far, I've had no luck. The drives appear to be happy in the case, but I can't copy anything to them, they just hang. I'm currently trying to do a single-pass erase on the drive to see if it will work - so far no joy.

    I also go no response to questions from LaCie - they seem to suck at customer support.

    If I can't make this work, I'll be looking for another RAID case option. Any thoughts on the best one out there? What experience have folks had with the DROBO?

    popmongrel
     
  4. rjtiedeman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    #4
    2 Big Quadra drive replacement?

    Did you pre format the drives HFS+ before inserting it in the Raid case?

    Bob Tiedemann
     
  5. LS417 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #5
    If you want the most reliable external drive, Glyph..
     
  6. g4cube macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #6
    The older 2big is limited to 2TB drives, so 2x2TB is all you can expect.

    Also likely that there is no firmware upgrade as the controller hardware is different in the newer 2big drives.
     

Share This Page