Want to use 3DS Max, which Windows to get? XP or 7?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Becko, Jan 29, 2010.

  1. Becko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #1
    I have a MacBook Pro 15" with OS X 10.6.2 and I will start using 3D Studio Max in a couple of weeks and as some of you already may know this software is only windows compatible.

    Obviously I love MAC OS X and I find quite frustrating I will have to use Windows ... =/ ... so the big question is which Windows version should I install it ... Windows XP or Windows 7 ?

    Thank you
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    I would go with XP.

    http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/index?siteID=123112&id=13571366

    I used 3D Studio Max (when it still belonged to Kinetix) and XP will fit fine and you have more resources for 3DS Max.


    The thread title guy strikes again:

    A more descriptive and precise thread title will help cater to the right audience and get you more responses.
    To edit your thread title, just click on the [​IMG] button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the "Go Advanced" button below your message.
    Have you also taken a look at MRoogle, since that question may have been asked several times?


    Example: Want to use 3DS Max, which Windows to get? XP or 7?
     
  3. Becko thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for the edit tip spinnerlys,

    Since you have used 3DS Max I've to ask you, how many GB space do you recommend me to use for the windows partition, 10 GB ? ... I'll be doing around 3 min 30 sec animations on 3DS MAX though, so I don't know how many space should I select on the Boot Camp for the windows partition.
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    If you go with XP, calculate 2GB for Windows XP, some hundred MB (or maybe more, it has been a while) for 3DS Max, the actual scene file (I recommend making several versions, so if one gets corrupted, you can fall back onto the last one - example: Open example_01_0a.max --> work an hour or two, save in between, then after two hours save as example_01_0b.max and so on.) will not take up much space, but the more polygons it contains, the bigger the file will get.
    Also take into account the final rendering, which should be done as an image sequence (in case 3ds max quits accidentally), so for every frame rendered an image is written to the HDD, which should be in either TIFF or TGA format to not compress them too much.

    So if your final rendered scene will be a minute long, which would result in 1500 frames (25fps), and every frame is a dedicated TIFF/TGA, that will be at least 2GB in SD resolution.

    I'd go with 30-45 GB just to be sure.
     
  5. MrPeanut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #6
  6. Becko thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #7
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but according to the official 3DS Max site, it states that 3DS Max ver 2010 is only compatible with Windows XP and Windows Vista. However cheking other forums I realized that is possible to run it on Windows 7, but if it glitches on win 7 won't be safer to run it on win XP 32-bit SP3 though ?

    By the way, how many GB space are you allowing on your Boot Camp partition for 3DS Max ? just curious since I also have a 250GB MBP 15"
     
  7. FieryFurnace macrumors 6502

    FieryFurnace

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #8
    I have Win7 Pro 64bit (on my PC) and 3ds runs great on that.
     
  8. MrPeanut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #9
    I have reinstalled windows 7 for the third time now so its 3 formats and its still a problem. Just crashes randomly, could it be a hard drive issue because thats obviously something i can replace so i hope its something as simple as that. My bootcamp partition is 100gb btw and theres 60gb free.
     
  9. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #10
    I currently use 3d studio max in Windows 7 and XP.

    What version of 3dsm will you be using? I find that 2010 runs a bit slower than the rest (and is quite buggy IMO so save A LOT!). I currently use 2010 in a windows XP Virtual machine (VMWare) and a windows 7 boot camp.

    If you are running 2010, I would suggest XP. 2010 takes up more resources and XP is a liter OS than windows 7.

    I would also suggest around 15gb. This will give you enough space for XP, any updates.
    3ds max + any training materials.
     

Share This Page