Want to use Guest/5GHZ/2.4GHZ with DSL modem.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by steffi, Jul 6, 2015.

  1. steffi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #1
    Currently my ISP provides cable thru their DSL modem (Zyxel) to the wall. I hang an Airport Express of that which supports 802.11n but I also have a 1st generation Time Capsule. On Wednesday I should be getting the 6th generation Airport Extreme. I know this adds dual band to my setup and 802.11ac capability.

    How can I use either of the above and still have

    guest access
    separate 2.4 5 GHZ where I can support 802.11n connections but also 802.11ac?
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    @steffi In order for guest access to work, one AirPort must be functioning as the router. Regardless of the configurations, wireless N and AC will both work swell. You will be limited to AC on the new Extreme.
     
  3. steffi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #3
    My ISP tells me theirs in just modem and my Airport Express is connected to it. But my airport express is in Bridge mode and so Guest isn't available under that setup. When I take it out of Bridge mode it tells me it's double nat'd.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    You need to switch the ISP modem into bridge mode or put the AirPort into the DMZ then enable DHCP & NAT mode.
     
  5. steffi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #5
    ISP said their modem is in bridge mode but they also use 10.10.10 range. and this conflicts with the network range DHCP will use in Network.

    Is there anyway to define the range that Apple will use in Router mode?

    What confusing is that I'm in a high rise behind an existing private IP range provided by my ISP.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    You can change the IP range in AirPort Utility --> Base Station --> Network --> Network Options.
     
  7. steffi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #7
    So I flipped it to dhcp and nat so I'm double nat right now and it still doesn't let me see guest network so I'm guess I'll have to upgrade from the Express 802.11n to the Extreme to be able to do this.
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
    What does the "Wireless" tab appear like?
     
  9. steffi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #9
    Upgraded to the most recent Extreme and Guest shows up. On the Express despite being an 802.11n capable Express it just doesn't support Guest Network.

    Double Nat didn't work so I had to go with Bridge and even with the Extreme in Bridge it shows Guest Network.
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10
    So what is the question at this point? Keep in mind that since it is in bridge mode, all traffic regardless of guest or main network now flows in a single VLAN.
     

Share This Page