Want windows 7 as Default OS

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Mycatisbigfoot, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. Mycatisbigfoot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys,
    When ever I turn on my mac It goes right in to OSX I would like it ether to go to the OS select panel. or to boot in to windows 7
    The mac side does not see the windows boot option in the "boot disk setting"


    I have been with macs for the since 2001 but Leaving it behind (I need cheap stuff" as I am in school and no job and need a new desktop as my g4 is to old, so yea,

    But is there a way to make windows 7 default ?
     
  2. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #2
    just do the following but select the bootcamp partition with windows on it, instead of Mac OS ;)

    http://www.askdavetaylor.com/how_do_i_force_boot_camp_to_boot_into_mac_os_x.html

    *edit* ok confused now, you say you've got an iMac? but your desktop is a G4? you cant install windows on a PPC based system, it just wont work,

    if you want a basic PC for windows then just buy a pc, it'd be a lot cheaper then buying a new Mac for that sole purpose
     
  3. ARF900 macrumors 65816

    ARF900

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
  4. entatlrg macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #4
    probably likes Mac Hardware ... nothing wrong with that!
     
  5. Mycatisbigfoot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #5
    ugh (English is not good when I am tired)

    My coumputer with 7 on it is a mac book (I never said I had an imac) I posed this in the Macbook,
    I use a power mac g4 as my mac books disk drive broke and apple is going to charge me to fix it,

    I have also done that but in the mac setting for boot disk does not show windows 7, Never has but showed Xp and vista,
     
  6. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #6
    your after a new computer because your hard drive has died?

    just buy a new one, depending on the spec of your machine i'd guess it's gonna take a 2.5" sata running upto 7200Rpm? look on ebay for one you should be able to pick up anything between 160Gb and 500Gb for not a lot of money ;)
     
  7. Mycatisbigfoot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #7
    no Disk drive, where you put disks in,
    If it was the hard drive it would of been fixed I have an old one lying around,
    \But tell me how to get 7 as the default.
     
  8. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #8
    if the steps in my first post aren't enough to make it default then i dont know sorry. it should work.
     
  9. Mycatisbigfoot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #9
    I've done that like over 9000 times, never worked it worked frin for Vista and Xp, It work for 7 yet,

    is there some some sort of command i can do in the unix program?
     
  10. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #10
    System Preferences > Startup Disk > Click the Windows disk. If it's not there try Boot CampAssistant again, or try it from Windows Boot camp control panel.
     
  11. Mycatisbigfoot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #11
    iv'e done that and still does not work. I've even reinstalled windows at this point
     
  12. Mycatisbigfoot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #12
    Never mind the 3.1boot camp drivers fixed my problem ,

    thanks no one
     

Share This Page