Wanted Vodafone gprs/3g settings for iphone

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by paulthegman, Jan 1, 2009.

  1. paulthegman macrumors newbie

    paulthegman

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Pinchbeck, Lincolnshire, England.
    #1
    Morning all,
    I have recently purchased a "NO CUT UNLOCK SIM CARD FOR IPHONE 3G 2.2 TURBO SIM" for my Iphone 3g. I wanted to use my works contract vodafone sim in my iphone but when i put my turbo sim in the iphone only works for calls and wifi, it has not gprs or 3g I'm guessing this is because the settings are not going in by them selves.
    I live in derby UK the iphone work great with O2 3g and my works vodafone sim gave me a good 3g signal when it was in my other phone Blackberry storm (which I might add is not a patch on the Iphone) Ive tried some APN setting but no joy
    there is a VPN area on the iphone but the setting are much more complicated with L2TP:rolleyes: PPTP IPSec setting I would be very happy if anyone could offer some help in getting my iphone working with 3g.
    Happy New Year to you all
    Paul
     
  2. Ninja Dom macrumors 6502

    Ninja Dom

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #2
    Vodafone UK APN settings:

    APN: internet
    Username: wap
    Password: wap

    Using these on my newly unlocked yellowsn0w iPhone 3G with Vodafone UK.
     
  3. paulthegman thread starter macrumors newbie

    paulthegman

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Pinchbeck, Lincolnshire, England.
    #3
    Thanks for the reply but i have tried these settings with no joy, anyone got any other settings that might work on Uk vodafone contract ?
     
  4. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #4
    I need Vodafone UK PAYG settings... :( *needs to waste the last £5 left from his old mobile* Heheheh.
     
  5. h2009 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #5
    Have you managed to get the 3G working for the internet? Edge is working fine, but i cant seem to get the 3G connection to the internet.
     
  6. paulthegman thread starter macrumors newbie

    paulthegman

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Pinchbeck, Lincolnshire, England.
    #6
    No luck here mate Ive tried lots of settings but still cant get the internet to work on contract vodafone I think that the problem is the turbo sim adaptor because some of these settings should of worked.
    this is a real blow for me because I really like my iphone but have to use my work sim all day so if i want to use the internet in the day ive either got to carry 2 phones or change my iphone back for a blackberry storm

    dam
     
  7. Ninja Dom macrumors 6502

    Ninja Dom

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #7
    Here are some things you can try that involve going to your Vodafone store.

    Go into the store (or ask customer services) if your Blackberry account is provisioned for internet use.

    I suspect that they'll say yes.

    In which case it is your Turbo Sim that is causing the problem.

    Try the yellowsn0w unlock instead. That's what I've done and everything is currently working fine.
     
  8. paulthegman thread starter macrumors newbie

    paulthegman

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Pinchbeck, Lincolnshire, England.
    #8
    OK well this story has a happy end, It turns out to be an old dodgy sim, which seems to work ok in the blackberry but not in the iphone 3g. I have since got vodafone to send me a new replacement sim which after playing around it now works great in the iphone, Ive got real 3g internet thanks to all who offered advise
     
  9. TopDog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #9
    Can anyone tell me if you can still use the free BT openzone wifi access with a non o2 sim.

    The iPhone was bought on a o2 monthly plan but I will be using a vodafone sim in it by hopefully using yellowsn0w. Want to check if the openzone free access will still work?

     

Share This Page