Wanting to hack Apple TV - run 3rd party plugins.

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by dylanbrown, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. dylanbrown macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi all.

    I have a 160GB Apple TV running firmware 2.2, I have used the ATV-USBCreator to run XBMC and Boxee on it. I have also enabled SSH but can't seem to figure out how to use it.

    Anyway, lets get straight to the point. I am wanting to find an easy way to install 3rd party plug-ins etc, like CouchSurfer, Skype, Jaman, NitoTV.

    I don't want to have to open up my Apple TV and wondered if there was an easy way to do this. (Like just putting in a USB flash drive)

    Also, If there was a plug-in I wanted to install, there would also be an easy way of doing that too.

    Anyway, I know some folks are doing this kind of thing, but charging for out *cough* aTV Flash *cough*

    Anyway, does anybody know of an easy way to do this?

    Thanks guys.
    Dylan B.
     
  2. Volante macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #2
  3. dylanbrown thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Already tried that!

    Volante,

    I have already used XBMC and have it on myATV right now. I'm not too bothered with the formats (I encode all my movies with Handbrake with the ATV pre-set and add the iPod atom so it can play on my iPod's :D

    I was wondering if there was an easy way (like the ATV USB creator way) to install 3rd party plug-ins like Nito TV, CouchSurfer etc.

    Thanks
     
  4. legacyb4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    So does XMBC run as a separate application or does it completely replace the ATV OS? How is integration with iTunes/iPhoto content?
     
  5. dylanbrown thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Installing XBMC is a simple process, and during installation, it installs the full OSX application (As Apple TV's OS is Tiger - but constantly runs a modified version of Front Row) and also plug-in that installs into Front Row (Apple TV menu) when you select XBMC, the Apple TV exsits Front Row and launches XBMC - you don't see any of Mac OSX as during the launch of the application, an Apple logo is displayed.

    This is also the same for Boxee.

    As for files/iTunes, you will need to SSH the files from your computer to you atv. It won't play drm'd content.

    Hope this helps
     
  6. legacyb4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #6
    Thanks for the clarification. So not quite the same as the older codec/Perian support installation for Apple TV to enable it to play xvid/divx through the existing interface then.

    Is that still an option?

     
  7. dylanbrown thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Not too sure if Perian is still an option, I do think it is available for OS 2.2 but don't know if there is an easy way to install it (That's what I'm trying to find out here) XBMC is pretty good, although I do feel Boxee is better. (Dibt know if it supports all of XBMC's codecs, but I would think so as it's built on top of XBBC.
     
  8. sneeks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #8
    Yes it's easy enough to install other plugins after installing from ATV-USBCreator.

    I installed CouchSurfer last night but then removed it as it was a bit sluggish and not very impressive. All you need do is copy the plugins you want to the correct folder via SSH. The only problem I ran into was that I could not delete the new plugin once installed as I did not have permission to even via ssh. In the end I returned the ATV to factory default and ran the ATV-USBCreator again.
     
  9. dylanbrown thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #9
    How to SSH?

    I still can't figure out to SSH onto Apple TV.

    Its username is like :appletv@frontrow or something like that and then the password is frontrow - but it always asks for a domain. What should I enter?
     
  10. evildarklordude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #10
    ssh into apple tv

    @dylanbrown

    The Apple TV has an IP address as assigned to it by your home (wireless?) router (usually of the form 192.168.1.*). The ssh login should be
    ssh frontrow@192.168.1.*.

    The password is frontrow.

    Hope this helps.
     
  11. legacyb4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #11
    So using ATV-USBCreator is not a permanent modification and the ATV can be set back to factory state easily enough? I recall seeing some threads about drive imaging, etc.; is this no longer required with current versions of ATV?

    I'm asking because I'm helping my friend possibly get on Boxee and want to make the process as painless as possible.

    Thanks!

     
  12. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #12
    Um, not wanting to be contradictory or anything, but I also do not want others to think this works for the iPod.

    The Built in AppleTV preset in HB uses: bframes=3 in its advanced options. No iPod yet released supports bframes. So just using the AppleTV preset and checking the iPod Atom will still render the movie incompatible for the iPod.
     
  13. sneeks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #13
    Yes you can restore the ATV to its original state within the settings menu, this deletes all modifications created by the ATV-USBCreator.
     
  14. buttermaker macrumors newbie

    buttermaker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #14
    OK... I'm a noob at Teminal all that as well and could also use help with this ssh business.

    @ evildarklordude... How do you determine the IP address of the Apple TV and then how do you access it?

    Dumb it down for us just a bit.

    Thanks.
     
  15. ebony macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    #15
    to get the ip go into the settings menu and then network. The ip should be listed here.

    When I ssh in I never use the ip I just type

    ssh frontrow@appletv.local

    and enter frontrow as the password.

    if appletv.local is not recognised as a valid host, this is where the ip would go.

    e.g.

    ssh frontrow@192.168.0.30

    once ssh'd in if you get any permission errors when moving/copying/running files just use the sudo command. e.g.

    instead of cp file1 file2
    use
    sudo cp file1 file2

    I have a basic knowledge of unix so have found it a little easier than some. I would suggest you get an understanding of the basic unix commands before doing anything via ssh.

    Good Luck
     
  16. queerlib macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    Path to Apple TV 1St Generations Plug-Ins Folder

    Hello,

    I'm also having difficulty copying my zipped plug-in into the Apple TV. I have been shh(ing) into the Apple Tv (1st Gen.) and am successful, however, I don't know how to copy the zipped plug-in to the appropriate folder. I am using Apple's Terminal app and admittedly, am new to the ssh(ing) process. Long story short, what is the appropriate path into the Apple TV plug-ins folder? I have XBMC installed, working fine, however, there are a number of new plug-ins I'd like to add. I would like to avoid having to purchase any software to do this. Thanks!
     

Share This Page