WarCraft 3 lag on MacBook

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by jacce, Aug 31, 2008.

  1. jacce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #1
    Hey!

    I recently started to play WC3 again, last time was maybe 1.5 years ago. Back then, WC3 ran smoothly on my 2GHz C2D & 2GB RAM MacBook, even though the game wasn't even Universal.

    Recently when I started to play WC3 again and I downloaded the Universal patch from Battle.net, so it should be running even better than 1.5 years ago. But surprisingly, the game now lags when there's much action one the screen and sometimes even if there isn't. I tried to lower down the graphic settings, which I didn't do 1.5 years ago, but it won't run smoothly today. What's the problem?

    I even tried to re-install the game but no. I have over 14GB empty space on my hard drive so it shouldn't be slowing the game. And overall my MacBook is running very fast, it always has been, but still, WC3 lags nowadays. :/

    Please help!
     
  2. Tom B. macrumors 65816

    Tom B.

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    What kind of frame rates do you get? (Type /fps in the message box.) I tend to get between 12 and 45 with all setting on full with my MacBook.

    And do you have these issues even on 1v1 maps?
     
  3. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    my 2.2 ghz macbook (x3100 graphics) lags in big dota battles but that's about it. fps tend to stay around 30 or better with decently high settings.
     
  4. Volante macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #4
    I wonder how it's measured on mac. On my good old Windows PC I couldn't go above 60 (I think it was?). Now on my mac pro I sometimes reach 300.
     
  5. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5
    how it's measured? You just type /fps, as in windows. I hover at or above 100 with every setting maxed on my imac.
     
  6. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #6
    I noticed this also - I think it also may be related to the annoying tendency of Warcraft on my Mac to use ~80% of the CPU even when idling, whereas the Windows version seemed to use next to nothing when it was minimized.
     
  7. Strongside macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #7
    Lol, people still play wc3? that game came out 8 years ago XD...I'd try to lower the resolution? are you playing on a wireless modem? it depends on several factors.
     
  8. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #8
    6, actually. And so what? It's still a good game.
     

Share This Page