Warcraft 3 OpenGL issue

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by xvzf, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. xvzf, Oct 25, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2011

    xvzf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    I installed WCIII under Wineskin 2.5 using WS8WineCXG10.1.1 as engine for the wrapper. But when I use the "-opengl" flag I get black shadows, see http://gratisupload.dk/billede/thumb/667831/full/

    How do I resolve this? Can I use another version of OpenGL than the one Apple bundled?

    Regards.
     
  2. Jyby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    #2
    Don't run this game under wine... just install the one on bnet. Blizzard updated the installed for lion..

    Unless u didn't buy the game in which case, you should grab a copy of windows xp from the same place you got WCIII. And play it that way.
     
  3. xvzf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #3
    I didn't think they're were ever going to update the ppc installer. Downloading and checking now. Thanks.
     
  4. rossip macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #4
    False! Hasn't been updated, why did you say that?
     
  5. Jyby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    #5
    I thought they didn't update the updater... Well hm sorry guys
     
  6. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #6
    Find a kind friend with SL and install it there, then bring the folder over. Or install SL on an external, install wc3 on that, then bring it over.
     
  7. pdafan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #7
    It's of little use. The mini map is blackened out.
     
  8. suprayugo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    #8
    black mini map

    same problem. anyone can fix this?
     
  9. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #9
    Not sure. You've updated to the latest intel version? Does the graphical glitch appear on all graphics settings?
     
  10. pdafan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #10
    the other way is to install wineskin and install WC3 as though we install to Win.
     
  11. Kukunin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #11
    I have this issue too. First, I've installed WC3 in VirtualBox on Mac OS X 10.5, then copied to Lion. All works well, but black textures.
    I've tried another thing: play WC3 via Wineskin, but there is the same issue with -opengl key.
    WC3 works normal with DirectX mode, but with low performance.

    I have the newest Macbook Air 11" with Intel HD 3000
     

Share This Page