Warcraft 3 problem with MAC OS 10.5.7

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Icy.Phoenix, May 28, 2009.

  1. Icy.Phoenix macrumors newbie

    Icy.Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    I just did the system update last night to OS 10.5.7 and my Warcraft 3 TFT has stopped working.

    At 1st it said "Unable to validate game version" so I tried restarting computer etc. I decided to go with the annoying long process of reinstalling warcraft 3 from scratch.

    I installed ROC then TFT and then logged onto Battle.net and had it do the auto update. Now my problem is, "Sorry, cannot open Warcraft 3". That error message pops up and the app never opens.

    Any ideas ?
     
  2. budfoot macrumors regular

    budfoot

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2



    Go outside and enjoy the game called "life"...

    Just be careful, there's no respawn point ;-)
     
  3. Icy.Phoenix thread starter macrumors newbie

    Icy.Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #3
    Well I train for tennis 3 hours a day, I then teach 2 hours and go to the gym for 1 hour. I enjoy spending my free time in the AC letting my body recover and grow :)

    Thanks for the tip though
     
  4. budfoot macrumors regular

    budfoot

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4

    I was being sarcastic :) We're all friends here ;-)
     
  5. Icy.Phoenix thread starter macrumors newbie

    Icy.Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #5
    I know I was just letting you know I spend most of my time playing sports :)
     
  6. Icy.Phoenix thread starter macrumors newbie

    Icy.Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #6
    Well guess what , I JUST FIXED IT :)

    Solution:

    I didnt even uninstall again,

    I just downloaded patch 1.21b, put it in the Warcraft folder, double clicked it and it patched to 1.21b.

    Then once it was at 1.21b, I clicked on Battle.net and it started updating to the newest patch, 1.23a

    Now it works :)
     
  7. Icy.Phoenix thread starter macrumors newbie

    Icy.Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #7
    apparently the problem arises after u start warcraft and the computer asks you whether you would like to allow access for the firewall for Warcraft 3.
    If you click accept or yes (whatever it is) then the next time u start warcraft it wont recognize the patch for some reason.

    Then you need to repatch it to 1.21b, then have Battle.net auto update it to 1.23a for it to work again, and shutt off the firewall to prevent it from happening again.

    So far this seems to be how it works for me ?

    Any advice on how to fix this issue ?
     
  8. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #8
    Leave the firewall off cos it's ****.

    If you're behind a router you are secure anyway. OS X firewall only blocks incoming traffic, and with a router, nothing will reach your computer anyway.
     
  9. The ArchAngel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #9
    False.

    The Mac OS X firewall is not that bad, and the assumption that someone is always going to be behing a *properly configured* router is a bold one unless the OP is using a desktop. Notice I refer to a properly configured router, a trait which most routers lack due to owner error or ignorance.
     
  10. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #10
    Desktop or not, any router using NAT will not permit external connections reach the internal network - by default. Internal to external are permitted by default - just like the OS X firewall.

    The firewall in 10.4 was much better than the rubbish in 10.5.
     
  11. Hasissues macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #11
    Warcraft ROc not installing on Mac

    Hi

    i noticed your reply's to this post and i need your help as well!
    I want to play my Warcraft 3 Roc and TFT on my

    Mac OS X 10.5.8
    2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

    However i have a problem, 2 weeks after installing my ROC and TFT CD's I did my weekly apple software update download i have been unable to launch Warcraft TFT ever since!

    I deleted all the the ROC and TFT and patch files thinking i should try again by reinstalling, but now when i put the ROC, CD in double Click on the icon/ORC face icon it will not recognize and begin the installation process.

    If i download the CD;s from the Battle net store all i get is a Cd and it still will not do the same thing. There is nothing wrong with CD's! Brand NEW

    What is wrong with my computer? Please Help me!

    -Hasissues
     

Share This Page