Warcraft 3

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by macnewbie0119, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. macnewbie0119 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #1
    Hello!

    I am trying to view a DotA replay on my iMac that i just bought, but when I go to view the replay none of the heroes show up. The replays plays as if everything were okay, pings show up and I can see the chatlog. However, there are no heroes that are shown whatsoever. Does anybody know what the issue could be?
     
  2. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #2
    Sounds as though you are running patch 1.24c and the replay is for 1.24b. There is nothing you can do to make the replay work correctly in that version. If you really want to see the replay, you will need to install Warcraft again and patch to 1.24b (you can even have two installs if you like - one at 1.24c and the other at 1.24b).
     
  3. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #3
    Blizzard released patch 1.24c fully knowing about the replay incompatibility (wtf?) and so now replays start but do not replay the game. It looks like everybody is AFK.

    This has nothing to do with hardware of any sort.
     
  4. Schmittroth macrumors regular

    Schmittroth

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, Astoria-Queens
  5. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #5
    True but that's not the problem here at all.
    This only occurs when a patch changes a full number. ie 1.23 replays won't play on a patched 1.24 client.

    However 1.24b and 1.24c replays work fine. The problem here is that the replays LOAD but it just shows players doing nothing, as if two people were playing a game and both idling. The game progresses with no unit movement etc.
    :rolleyes:
     
  6. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #6
    This is not true at all. The replays will break whenever Blizzard changes the game considerably. 1.24c changed JASS stuff, hence it had no chance of being able to keep replays working.
     

Share This Page