Warcraft III on Mac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by stobin723, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. stobin723 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    #1
    Just thought I would start a thread on this because I didn't see one in existence already. For all you Warcraft III addicts out there, if you own Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos and The Frozen Throne for PC but have recently converted to Mac like I have, don't bother purchasing the Mac OS Battlechest to get your WC3 fix. If you go to battle.net and register your cd key, you can download either the PC or Mac client for free regardless of the platform you made the original purchase for.

    I was really relieved to find this because it's virtually the only game I play consistently and I wanted to be able to run it natively.

    P.S. I know it's over 10 years old but my new MacBook Pro i5 plays it as smooth as butter.
     
  2. NOTORIOUS187 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    #2
    I didn't even know they sold PC/Mac versions of WC3... I bought mine prior to getting my PB G4 and played it on a PC, then used the same disc to install on my PB G4.
     
  3. wilycoder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
  4. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Uhh, the Mac version is on the PC disc you know, like all of Blizzard's games.
     
  5. joostlenders macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Location:
    Breda, the Netherlands
    #5
    I have a question.
    Some time ago, I bought the Warcraft 3 Battle Chest edition. I installed it and played it for several years. After that period I started playing WoW, it was fun, but after some time I stopped playing that game also.
    Now I wanted to play Warcraft 3 again, and most of all DotA. Luckily I haven't uninstalled the game so I could play DotA again.
    But now comes the problem, I lost my Battlechest. Blizzard has made it posible to add games to your battle.net account and I wanted to add my Warcraft 3 copy, but cant do it because I lost my cd-copy and so my cd-key.
    I still have the game installed and can play it, but my question is:
    Is it possible to find the cd-key in the game somewhere, like a cd-key changer on Windows?
    Many thanks in advance!

    Problem solved, found it allready on the forum
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=720777&highlight=warcraft+key
     
  6. clientsiman macrumors 6502

    clientsiman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Crete,Greece
    #6
    True.
     
  7. Pojo458 macrumors member

    Pojo458

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #7
    Yeah thats what i did, only took me 4 hours to download both reign of chaos and frozen throne. Plays good on my macbook:D
     
  8. albion-bh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #8
    Thank you

    That's why you should search ols threads before asking the same question!!!

    I love this site!:D
     

Share This Page