Warcraft III sound and Freeze Issues

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by kilA-, May 14, 2008.

  1. kilA- macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #1
    Hey I'm pretty new to the mac os, I've only had my iMac for about a week and I just installed WCIII a few days ago so I can play DotA. Everything runs fine and smooth except for

    1) The sound during game play seem muffled when in battle. You can hear the characters voices fine, but when you are around creeps fighting or in battle the sound effects of the fightin are muffled.

    2) I haven't been able to exit WCIII without it freezing up. I've tried exiting the program from the main menu and from in-game. As soon as I press exit the screen freezes and I have to power down and restart.

    I thought there was like a patch that needed to be installed but I haven't had any luck finding one. Can someone help me out? Or point me in the right direction?
     
  2. ser968 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #2
    I too have the same issue. It sounds like the creature battle sounds are very muffled. Have you found a way to resolve this?
     
  3. ruinfx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #3
    pretty common problems, i have the same sound issues and the quitting issue. nothing you can do about the sound that i know of but just make sure you command+M to put it in window mode to quit war3 so you can force quit easily.
     
  4. aidanpendragon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #4
    Search here, sounds like a pretty common Leopard/new iMac issue.
     
  5. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #5
    We're working on an update to Warcraft III to address a number of the reported issues, but I can't provide a schedule for its release.
     
  6. ruinfx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #6
    if this is true i will be very happy :D
     
  7. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #7
    rbarris is back! and blizzard is working on a fix! Thanks Rob!
     
  8. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    :D
     
  9. Maclarny macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    #9
    occasionally, I have had luck fixing problems such as these by deleting my Warcraft III preferences.

    Go to the folder "username"/library/preferences

    Once there, look for a file named "com.blizzard.WarcraftIII" and trash it. Then reopen WC3 and a new preference file will be created. If you're lucky one or two of your problems may disappear!
     

Share This Page