Warcraft screen scrambled

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by silvertonemc, Sep 5, 2008.

  1. silvertonemc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #1
    After nearly 2 years troublefree play my iMac G5 now wont display WOW.
    When i log in the screen is scrambled with various triangular shapes and patterns. i can go right thru to my characters but the screen is scrambled completely (cept for the UI)

    any thoughts?
     
  2. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #2
    Any other application acting up? Maybe, a reload of the Video Card Drivers or even a re-seat of the Video Card may be in order. If no other application is affected a reload of WOW may also help. Just some ideas....

    Bill.....:apple:
     
  3. scott:mac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Great Britain
    #3
    Hide Your Dock.

    Im guessing you know how?
    If not.

    Option + Command + D.

    Hope it works out.
     
  4. silvertonemc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #4
    Everything is running normal, design apps etc, tested Doom3 game no probs, Dock is on hide anyway....could it be i just had my logic board replaced?
    Reload Drivers? not sure how to on that one

    michael
     
  5. IanC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Essex
    #6
    Go into your World of Warcraft folder and drag the WTF folder and the Cache folder to the desktop. Does it work fine then?

    (you'll have to select your realm again (just chose the one you already are on, it will pick up your characters), and will loose some settings)
     
  6. silvertonemc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
  7. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #8
    Mine was like that for a while on my MBP. It would appear out of nowhere like jagged geometrics. I messed around with my video settings and it seemed to work along with a loss of lag for the server I was on. Not sure what really corrected it finally since it rarely appears. Try messing with your video settings for WOW while in game if you can.

    Bill.....:apple:
     
  8. g4cubed macrumors 6502a

    g4cubed

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    #9
    If you're running time machine try going back a bit when you knew it ran good. Or I would dump the WoW file and reload the game. Yes a PIA with all the updates but that's what I would do since you stated it's the only one with the problem.

    Just my 2¢ plus tax.
     
  9. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #10
    That screenshot (and the other one in the same directory), looks very similar to the youtube links. The errors in youtube were fixing with a video card firmware update, however looking through the OS X download page, I couldn't seem to find one suitable for your Mac. If you have everything up to date in Software Update (and in WoW), you should take your Mac to an Apple store and have them look at it.

    The logic board as far as I'm aware, contains the video card. If this occurred at about the same time, I would have no doubt that there is an issue with it.
     
  10. Randman macrumors 65816

    Randman

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fla
    #11
    How hot is your Mac running? I get it from time to time if running close to 90 C.
     
  11. FoxInSox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #12
    You guys are making me miss WOW.........I haven't played in weeks......

    Sorry i'm wasting your time with chat

    Is there any mindless chat on this site?
     
  12. silvertonemc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #13
    Think im going for the graphics card in the new logic board which was just fitted Friday and the WOW issue happened directly after that. Back to Apple :(

    Cheers all for the help
    Michael
     

Share This Page