Warcraft TFT Problem

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by JeffHong21, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. JeffHong21 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #1
    I reinstalled my warcraft III games and when i try to play TFT, it quits unexpectedly. I'm using it on my macbook 2.4 ghz. I used to be able to play TFT before, but i unstalled it. I can play ROC fine, until i play TFT, then even ROC quits unexpectedly. What can i do. (i upgraded my mac's ram from 2 to 4)
     
  2. leishan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
  3. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #3
    Are both of your RoC and TFT up to date with the latest updates from blizzard?

    That would be the first thing I would do, update Warcraft 3.
     
  4. JeffHong21 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #4
    i can play RoC on Bnet. But once i finish installing TFT and try to play it, it says it quits unexpectedly and that i can: 1.)relaunch, which says to install the warcraft III disk, 2.)report to apple or 3.)ignore. Then after that i can't even play RoC. I read the error report or whatever it was called when i reported to apple and it said thread 4 crashed or something. Thats what i could make out as to what happened. But like i said, it worked b4 on the same mac. I just unistalled it to make room for WOTLK.
     
  5. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #5
    So it's crashing on startup? It could be a codec issue as it tries to play an intro video on first launch. What you can try is, navigate to your Warcraft folder and rename the folder "Movies" to something like "Moviesoff". If this helps, you do indeed have a codec issue.

    In the Finder, from the Go menu choose Go to Folder. Type in "/Library/QuickTime". The codec Warcraft uses is DivX. Remove any codec with DivX in the name from the folder (don't delete them just yet, just move them out of here). Blizzard hates me telling users this, however I know it works. Go to http://www.perian.org/ and download yourself the Perian codec pack. The Perian contains DivX components that Warcraft can use. With this installed, Warcraft should display videos correctly.

    The other codec pack which is good to have is Flip4Mac. This enables Windows Media content to be played back in QuickTime. You can get it from here
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/player/wmcomponents.mspx

    With Perian and Flip4Mac, I haven't come across any media file that cannot be viewed.
     
  6. JeffHong21 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #6
    Thanks, but it didn't work. I tired "moviesoff" and perian and it still deos the same thing. I'm wondering , could it be a addon i downloaded for Wow?
     
  7. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #7

Share This Page