Warning: Do NOT install GeekTool in Leopard!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by someguy, Jul 3, 2008.

  1. someguy macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #1
    Attention GeekTool and/or Leopard users:

    Installing GeekTool on a system with Leopard could cause serious problems!

    Having recently upgraded to Leopard, I decided to grab the latest version of GeekTool. After doing so and rebooting, everything would lock up while starting up. By everything, I mean Finder, the Dock, the menubar, I couldn't even open a folder on the Desktop. Opening the Force Quit window and trying to quit or relaunch anything caused that window to lock up too. Literally everything was "Not Responding".

    I actually ran Repair Disk, Repair Permissions, and even the Extended Test on my Apple Hardware Test CD, figuring maybe my RAM or HD was having problems.

    I ended up booting my machine in Target Disk Mode and deleting the applications that I had in my Login Items list, one by one. I just happened to start with GeekTool because I had already suspected it to be the problem, rebooted and my system runs great now!


    Just a heads up for anyone else who may choose to ignore the fact that GeekTool's web site says "...for Panther or Tiger...". :D
     
  2. mckyvlle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    I have been running GeekTool since I got my MacBook with Leopard, about seven months now and counting. Never had problems like you described. The only thing wrong with GeekTool I have experienced is that it randomly disable itself occasionally, requiring a trip to its Prefpane to reset it.
     
  3. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #3
    I had that problem too for a few days, then suddenly, GeekTool wouldn't work at all (it would run, but refuse to display any items I had used in the past).

    A few days later (after enabling the menubar icon), I noticed the machine was running sluggish, giving me the spinning beach ball frequently. After a reboot, the system was extremely unstable, and all order was restored after simply removing the GeekTool preference pane.

    Glad to hear you are not having any trouble. Hopefully this doesn't happen to anyone else, but I figured it wouldn't hurt to share my experience.

    BTW, I'm not knocking GeekTool. It is extremely handy and I used it everyday when I had Tiger. Wish I could use it now... :rolleyes:
     
  4. nak0604 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #4
    Geektool problem

    i have just started trying to run geektool and i get this message when i try to enable geektool "preferences need to be updated, please launch geektool preferences
     
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    No issues with my GeekTool for about 3 months now.
     
  6. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #6
    Way to resurrect a thread! :D
     
  7. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #7
    Shouldn't this be addressed at nak0604?
     
  8. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #8
    Never had a problem with GT and Leopard. Been using it for 6 months now on the MacBook.
     
  9. NJRonbo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #9
    No problems here with GeekTool on my Mac Pro although with
    recent Leopard upgrades it no longer automatically starts even
    though I set it to do so through my User Account login settings.
     
  10. npaler01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    #10
    I ran GeekTools for a couple days and really started getting into some stuff. Everything was going great until I was testing some AppleScript a few hours ago and now when I open GT, I get the rolling beach ball thing and can't click on anything inside of GT. I'm running Leopard 10.5.7 on a new MacBook Pro. I can't tell what the beach ball is waiting for. Anyone else seen this?

    I had to remove GT from the PrefPane. I'm going to play with it tomorrow again. I'd really like to use it. It's got some great potential!

    thanks!
     
  11. uaecasher macrumors 65816

    uaecasher

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    Stillwater, OK
  12. auhlixer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #12
    My iTunes won't load now


    and had to force shutdown on reboot
     
  13. NJRonbo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #13
    Need to amend my comments above.

    Geektool does work perfectly. I had
    installed a program called "Wallpaper Clocks"
    that hides GEEKTOOL. It was for that
    reason that I could not see that it actually
    was starting up and displaying as it should
     

Share This Page