WARNING: Dont SSH into your phone and change downloaded icons

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by bbplayer5, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #1
    It causes the app store programs to corrupt and not open. The icon change does work on the springboard, however, it stops the programs from opening. Must be some kinda check for modified files or something.

    Any default apps can be changed, including the dock though.
     
  2. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #2
    I changed my Remote icon and it seems to work fine. :confused:

    Weird. Does reinstalling the app fix it for you?
     
  3. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #3
    Turn your phone off and turn it back on, tell me if it still works. Re-installing it fixed it, yes.

    Maybe it was something else? Needs to be tested.
     
  4. cazlar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    Apparently, there is a checksum inside the apps that is checked at launch. I'm not sure if that is only for the binary, or the whole app. If you were able to change Remote.app's icon successfully, this suggests it is only the binary being checksummed?

    If it is the whole app, theoretically, I imagine you could change the icon, calculate the new checksum and change that in the app. Practically, I'm not sure if this is possible though, as the DRM might interfere.
     
  5. Templex macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    I digged into the SMB package and found what appears to be a list of checksums:
    [​IMG]

    Everything in the package appears to have a checksum except for some .plists and the two files in a SC_Info folder.
     
  6. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #6
    That doesn't explain why mine works then.

    WTF. :confused::confused:
     
  7. dlamin517 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #7
    how can you checksum an image? cant u just rename the icon to the default.png? does the app check all the pixels or something?
     
  8. ViRGE macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    #8
    You can checksum any binary data, it's rather simple.
     

Share This Page