WARNING >>Eltima Software "SyncMate"

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Garoolgan, May 21, 2015.

  1. Garoolgan macrumors member

    Garoolgan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Location:
    In France, 25th on UN's HDI list of countries
    #1
    Hello,

    On April 7th I purchased the "Expert version" of SyncMate and on May 19th (almost 6 weeks later) during a sync I received a message to upgrade.
    On completion of the upgrade I received a message to pay $19.?? or use the basic free version.

    This is the first time in my life I've ever been asked to pay for an upgrade before the first year of use was up.

    Before and after my purchase any question I had was answered very, very quickly, now after 2 days of emailing Eltima Software I still have no reply to my complaint.
    Garoolgan
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    A quick look at online reviews of this company seems to indicate you're not alone. It's 50/50 between people saying they've got perfect customer support, and others saying they don't get any responses.

    The pessimist in me says the good reviews are likely paid shills.
     
  3. Garoolgan thread starter macrumors member

    Garoolgan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Location:
    In France, 25th on UN's HDI list of countries
    #3
    I just wanted to warn others........
    Garoolgan
     
  4. Garoolgan thread starter macrumors member

    Garoolgan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Location:
    In France, 25th on UN's HDI list of countries
    #4
    Update on my "Warning"

    Just received in the last few minutes by email>>>

    Thank you for your interest in SyncMate upgrading. According to our database, your order has been purchased within the "Grace" period, before the release of the new upgrade. This means that you receive the upgrade free of charge. We have switched the version for your license code and you can use it to activate the latest version of SyncMate now.

    Feel free to ask if you have any further questions concerning our products.

    -----
    Alex Campbell
    SyncMate Customer Service

    ----------

    ... and my old activation code has now converted the "basic" into "Expert"
     
  5. camelia macrumors regular

    camelia

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Location:
    Mexico City
    #5
    And now they are spreading MALWARE!! take a look
    -https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/eltima-softwares-elmedia-player-and-folx-infected-with-malware.2079195/
     
  6. MacGizmo macrumors 65816

    MacGizmo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona
    #6
    As someone who regularly receives "offers" from software developers to review apps I can tell you that they do not pay for positive reviews. They will either offer a NFR License (which is common) or a small fee (I'm talking $20 or so) for the trouble of reviewing an app that you don't own and may not even normally use. They are not alone in this.

    In almost 20 years of writing reviews, I've only had one developer who actually thought that paying a small fee for a review would guarantee a positive result. Unfortunately I had to give him a rude awakening. After that, I decided that I would no longer publish "bad reviews." Not because I care what the developer thinks, but because I didn't want to waste my time bashing an app in public. I would rather spend my time writing about apps I do like.

    That being said, I've found all of Eltima's Mac apps to be of good quality, and some of them quite useful. Airy is my favorite YouTube Downloader.
     

Share This Page