WARNING IOS10 bricks iPhone

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by keeper, Sep 13, 2016.

  1. keeper macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    #1
    Beware mine just did the update, rebooted then informed me to connect phone to iTunes .
    I now wants to factory reset and install IOS9 which has failed.
     
  2. Ghost31 macrumors 68000

    Ghost31

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    #3
    What if you don't even have a computer? Because you know...the iPad replaces your laptop kinda thing.
     
  3. noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    you missed the word MY in your title
     
  4. RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #5
    Lots of comments on the main page of bricking ...
     
  5. DJJazzyJeff Suspended

    DJJazzyJeff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #6
    I honestly was just thinking about replacing my Air with an iPad Pro. Lol. Here's example 1 of why I shouldn't....
    --- Post Merged, Sep 13, 2016 ---
    You're right!!! HOLD OFF!!!!!
     
  6. Ghost31 macrumors 68000

    Ghost31

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    #7
    How about if I put MY in a post to negate his lack of the word MY in his?

    This update bricked MY iPhone and iPad and my girlfriends iPhone and iPad. Soooo...not exactly an isolated case. Check Twitter too. It's happening everywhere
     
  7. noobinator, Sep 13, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2016

    noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    thanks, my bad. I apologize.
     
  8. Lobwedgephil macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
  9. AbSoluTc macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #10
    It's not bricked. Bricked means you can't do ANYTHING with it.

    Sounds like a random issue. Restore fresh from iTunes to iOS 10 and then restore your backup. Problem solved. Is it a minor inconvenience? Sure.
     
  10. samcheezay macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
  11. MacknTosh, Sep 13, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2016

    MacknTosh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #12
    I'm currently upgrading both my iPhone 6s and iPad Pro (9.7"), and they both are requiring connecting to iTunes. I've connected the iPad and iTunes informed me there is a problem that will require a software download OR if that doesn't work - a factory reset.... this isn't looking promising!!

    Update: connecting the iPad to my computer and re-installing iOS 10 from there seems to have worked.... now for the iPhone.
     
  12. RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #13

    BUT iPads are supposed to replace computers and now I need a computer to update through iTunes ... p!ss off Apple.
     
  13. noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    Per the main thread, update only via itunes or you might get bricked.
     
  14. bchreng macrumors 65816

    bchreng

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #15
    I think I'll back up my photos prior to updating my 6s+, just in case.
     
  15. Macshroomer macrumors 65816

    Macshroomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #16
    Bummer folks that this happened to. I'll wait until 10.3.5...which is about when I am expecting my 7+ order...lol
     
  16. sawah macrumors 6502a

    sawah

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    #17
    I love how snarky people get. This has happened to many people. It's not user error, it's a bad download.
     
  17. Samantha124 macrumors regular

    Samantha124

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    #18
    I was downloading this on my iPad when I saw this thread. I was like uh oh
    ...but luckily my battery is below 50%. Saved by the battery! If I charge it will it install automatically? I don't have access to my computer if it screws up.
     
  18. Andrew.s macrumors regular

    Andrew.s

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Inland Empire
    #19
    Try to update before restoring once you connect to iTunes to try to avoid losing your personal data. That is if iTunes gives you the update option. This is mostly targeted at people who haven't backed their devices up. If the update route doesn't work then you have to restore. If it's not giving you iOS 10 as the latest update you need to update iTunes before hand.
     
  19. Switchback666 macrumors 68000

    Switchback666

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    SXM
    #20
    Love it ! :D:eek:
     
  20. RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #21
    WHOSE IDEA WAS IT TO MOVE THIS THREAD TO iOS 10 (beta) ... it's not beta it's the real deal and the real deal is failing BIGTIME.
     
  21. ibwb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #22
    You'd have to contact support, and either take it in to the Apple Store or do a swap via UPS, same as any other serious failure. Much like what happens on your PC or Mac if the OS gets corrupted in some way.
     
  22. sdwaltz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Indiana
    #23
    Definitely not user error.

    This happened when I updated my 6+ to iOS 10 GM several days ago, and it just happened now with my iPad Pro 12.9.

    I've had Apple products for years and am very technologically inclined. Apple has absolutely butchered this rollout.
     
  23. sutherland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #24
    If you check out the manage storage section in your settings, you should see iOS 10 and be able to delete the download.
     
  24. Agent2015 macrumors 6502

    Agent2015

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Location:
    Sonoran Desert
    #25
    I have upgraded MY iPhones via OTA: a couple of iPhone 5s, 1 iPhone 6, 1 iPhone 6s plus. No issues whatsoever. iOS 10 is running very smoothly.
     

Share This Page