Resolved Warning Newbie<< Wireless Router Question.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by kylebattle, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. kylebattle, Jan 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012

    kylebattle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #1
    I did a search typed as many ways as i could i never saw an answer to my question. I have a basic budget router. Belkin in the brand. Anyways all i really do it dload music, stream movies. and basic browsing. Would it really matter that much to get a expensive high end router? Thanks!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    No, unless your router does not suffice your needs and frequently stops working and is incompatible with your computer.
     
  3. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #3
    What would set your hypothetical "high end" router apart from your current one?

    If the one you has does the job, meaning its range covers your home, you're able to connect and use all of your devices, then what would you hope to improve by buying something you perceive as "high end"?

    Downloading movies and music is going to be more a function of your internet service than your router, unless your router is 802.11b, which is quite antiquated by now. 802.11g or n would suit you just fine.

    Some routers have an effective limit on the number of devices that can be connected simultaneously. If this isn't a problem for you now, then I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  4. dXTC macrumors 68020

    dXTC

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Up, up in my studio, studio
    #4
    Like others have already said, it looks like your Belkin router already does what you say it needs to. Don't throw money at a problem that doesn't exist. I had a cheap D-Link router that served my needs for years.

    If, in the future, you want to do lots of online gaming where milliseconds count, you want to increase your signal range to get to those hard-to-reach places in your home **or** you want to set up a no-fuss :apple:tv configuration, then and only then would I recommend a router upgrade. For gaming or range increase, any "high end" router will probably do. For the :apple:tv, the Airport Extreme Base Station is the most powerful choice; it and the Airport Express have the ability to wake a computer running iTunes from sleep, make it send a requested media file to the :apple:tv, and put it back to sleep.

    If you ever do upgrade your router, keep your original router if possible. It can often serve as a wireless network bridge; many people use older routers to connect Ethernet-only media consoles (such as XBox) to their WiFi network.
     
  5. kylebattle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #5
    Thanks for the help guys, I just didn't know if i was losing any potential running a 3yr old Belkin. I know, I only do basic things but i just wanted to make sure.
     
  6. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #6
    3? Dude, my Linksys is about 10 years old and does the job SO much better than our 2Wire gateway ever did.

    This is a great example of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it." :cool:
     
  7. kylebattle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
  8. kylebattle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #8
    Okay so new problem (not really did the same thing with my pos windows netbook) but my wi-fi lost connection (no connection) Router and modem both said they where active. Reset the modem.. Nothing. Reset the router...Bam internet. Why is this? its really annoying when it does it constantly.
     
  9. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #9
    In a nutshell, it's back to your first question, but now it iS broke, so now you may need a newbie. Many makes to choose from.....Google is your friend here, I use a Draytek and my Time Capsule.....Never misses a beat.
     
  10. kylebattle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #10
    Okay well good now i can go buy even more toys :D
     
  11. kylebattle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #11
    Next question is. Based off these results.
    [​IMG]
    What type of router would be best.
     
  12. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    The speeds have to do more with your ISP than router. Anyhow, here is mine:
    [​IMG]
    The router I use is a 802.11N by Cisco as I stream a lot of movies (I have 7 devices in my house connected on netflix and vudu) so I use 5GHz channels to connect to them.
     
  13. SuperCachetes macrumors 6502a

    SuperCachetes

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Away from you
    #13
    It looks like you have a 10/2 connection. Any ol' 802.11n router will do, and you would likely not overload it for a long time.

    If you have the money, a simultaneous dual-band router is nice, especially if there is potential for multiple devices at your place.

    The Airport Extreme Base Station is the Apple version, but you can find other good brands for cheaper.
     
  14. kylebattle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #14
    Yeah i know the speed is based off my isp so thats why i posted the picture to just show my actual speed. Anyways yes i do have a kindle and two iPhones that use the wifi at times but its not always connected. I was just going to go with a G router but if an N would benefit me more ill get one of them.
     
  15. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
  16. SuperCachetes macrumors 6502a

    SuperCachetes

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Away from you
    #17
    Definitely stick with 802.11n.

    I don't have any experience with Netgear. I prefer Linksys/Cisco; I just replaced one that was still working. Thing just would not die. On the other hand, I have had D-Links that seemed to enjoy dying.

    This is twice as expensive as what you posted, but it could conceivably handle everything you can throw at it for 5+ years. Probably much longer.

    Cisco Linksys E3200
     
  17. kylebattle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    #18
  18. SuperCachetes macrumors 6502a

    SuperCachetes

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Away from you
    #19
    Actually here is one cheaper, with better reviews.

    Netgear Dual Band

    If you think $120 too much for a router, get a cheaper one. It will work fine. I just don't like to limit myself.

    Incidentally, the upgrades of the two I've posted to the $50 model you did are the dual-band operation, and gigabit ethernet.

    As I recommended, the dual-band is good because it will allow the newest, fastest devices to stay on the 5gHz channel and slower devices will stay on the other frequency and not interfere. You may not need this or gigabit ethernet now, but who knows about a year down the road.
     

Share This Page