Was buying a refurbished 2011 iMac a good choice?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by THX2008, May 3, 2013.

1. THX2008 macrumors newbie

My refurbished 2011 iMac just arrived a couple of days ago. This is my first Apple Desktop. I've been using a Core Duo MBP as my main machine since 2006, so this is a welcome upgrade.

When deciding on what to buy, I narrowed my choices down between a 2011 21.5 iMac with a Core i7 2.8 GHz processor for $1259 and the entry level 2012 Core i5 21.5 iMac. In the end I went with the refurbished 2011 model because of its greater repairability, upgradability and optical drive. I know digital media seems to be the wave of the future but I still enjoy watching DVD movies. After looking at iFixit's breakdown of the 2012 iMacs, they seem to be taking a step backwards in several areas (why a 5400 rpm laptop HD?).

The refurbished iMac came with a 2TB 7200 rpm hard drive and 8GB of memory. Both are more than what was advertised. Overall, I'm very happy. When I compare specs between the two, it seems like I'm really only missing out on USB 3.0 and a slightly better GPU. Was this a good purchase choice?

2. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

iSayuSay

I had a bad experience with 2011 iMac, the screen had been defected too many times. Smudge/dirty screen problem was a PITA for me. That plus I have my GPU and HDD replaced too.

So it was a bitter experience with the old machine.

I'm not saying that it's going to happen to you. Overall it was a great machine indeed, when it works.

2012 iMac runs not only slightly faster, but it's also much much cooler even under loads. That something you should consider.
    Maybe return the machine and get refurbed 2012 could be another alternative?

3. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

T'hain Esh Kelch