was i hacked?

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by davelanger, Nov 13, 2013.

1. davelanger macrumors 6502a

I am using mavericks.

when I woke up today my computer was on and at the password prompt to get into my computer and it had a bunch of dots at the password screen

I cleared them out, and went to use my password but it didn't work.

I went through the process of changing my admin pw but even when i reboot my computer when i get to the log on screen a bunch of dots come out

If i clear it out now i can get into my computer but now my keychain pw won't work either.

what changed was i started playing world of warcraft again and added some add ons and also use ventrillo.

That is the only thing different i have done in the past week that I could see would cause this issue.

Has anyone seen this issue before where when you log in the password is being typed out for you?

Should I just back up everything and wipe the HD and start over?

2. dean1012 macrumors regular

Speaking as a system administrator, If you have reason to believe you have been compromised (on any operating system), the only recourse is to reload (format and reinstall, not repair) the operating system.

You should then restore files from backup a few at a time to ensure the problem does not repeat itself.

It can be a very time consuming process but it is the only way to be sure there are no compromises remaining on the system.

With that said, you should do some due diligence to ensure it is really a compromise before expending the effort. Some of those steps include googling (on another computer preferably) your problem to see if others have it.

Also of note, if you have been compromised you should never reuse that password again and should change any passwords that may have been stored in your keychain for safety.

I don't think a WoW addon would cause this kind of issue and I have not seen or heard of this kind of issue before so I have nothing further to add.