Was the 2010 MBP freezing issue resolved?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by eobet, Nov 27, 2010.

  1. eobet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #1
    During the first months of owning my new 15-inch MBP, I had at least three freezes. I remember there being a huge thread about this, which I can't find now.

    Happily though, my MBP no longer freezes, but I haven't done anything to it (other than software updates).

    So, was it a software glitch? Everyone were shouting about some sort of controller chip or something before, if I remember correctly...
     
  2. eagle003 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #2
    I've had to reboot my MBP 15" three times today :'"""(
     
  3. eobet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #4
  4. spazma7ik macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    #5
    From what I remember, wasn't the problem caused by graphics switching?

    I have had my 17" i7 since ~August 2010, I installed gfxCardStatus first thing, and this macbook hasn't froze once.

    I just use the nvidia 330m when plugged in, and before unplugging, I switch it to integrated intel gpu. No problems.
     
  5. eagle003 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #6
    I will try that one out!

    omg, it will be so cool if it will not freeze anymore!

    what do you mean by "before unplugging"?
     
  6. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #7
    Hmm.. Well, there's things I'd like :)
    and there's things which are financially viable :rolleyes:

    Maybe.. Apple will ditch the CD/DVD/BD slot altogether!
    ~ It's old hat now, who uses disks? Seriously.. When was the last time you inserted a DVD-ROM into your Mac??

    Maybe... adopt Intel's Light Peak technology for hardware interaction/connection...

    Perhaps.. they'll bring the iPhone's retina display to the laptop platform.

    Perhaps.. they'll make SSD's the default storage device.
     
  7. AppleMacFinder, Nov 28, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010

    AppleMacFinder macrumors 6502a

    AppleMacFinder

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #8
    Totally agree with you.
    I hope that Apple will ditch the OD and use the free space wisely;
    maybe we will get a real pro GPU! :rolleyes: Who knows.
     
  8. AppleMacFinder macrumors 6502a

    AppleMacFinder

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
  9. spazma7ik macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    #10

    The app gfxcardstatus basically just lets you choose which GPU you want to use. So when using your computer plugged in(charging) then you'd want to use the NVIDIA (the 330m), if you unplug your computer (run off battery) then right before doing so, switch to Intel graphics (power saver since it's integrated and not nearly as powerful).
     
  10. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #11
    I'll be nice if Apple added an option to allow internal RAID, thus two internal microSATA connectors in addition to the standard. Forget Opti-bay's completely waste of space and it's dead weight!
     
  11. MacGurl111 macrumors 65816

    MacGurl111

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle
    #12
    Mine froze two times last night and it was annoying. Guess we'll wait and see.
     

Share This Page