OS X Wasteland 2 on rMBP

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Kozre, Mar 6, 2014.

  1. Kozre macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    #1
    Who already played it on mac? What about performance?
     
  2. Kozre thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
  3. csixty4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    Somerville, MA
    #3
    I'm waiting until the full version is ready (I also don't have an rMBP so I can't be much help there). Been keeping myself busy playing through Fallout 2 in the meantime. Itching for another trip into the Wasteland, though.
     
  4. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #4
    It's a Unity game, so I'm sure it'll be fine as long as you don't have an HD 4000. The graphics don't look that impressive.

    I'm in the same boat as csixty4, waiting for the full release.
     
  5. Janichsan macrumors 6502a

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #5
    The first (alpha?) version available for Kickstarter backers (though only for Windows) had some severe performance problems.
     
  6. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    Shadowrun which also is a Unity RPG, with very much similar graphics ran perfectly fine on my MBA.

    Hopefully Wasteland 2 will too. I'm waiting for the full version before I'm gonna get it tho.
     
  7. Janichsan macrumors 6502a

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #7
    Sorry, no, the graphics aren't really similar, except for the perspective.

    Shadowrun uses 2D graphics with some faux 3D effects for the background. Only the characters are rendered in 3D. Wasteland 2's graphics are fully rendered in 3D.
     
  8. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #8
    Well, sure, it's an alpha...
     
  9. Janichsan macrumors 6502a

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #9
    Sure, but a hint that it would be a bit premature to say that an Intel HD4000 would be fine in any case.
     
  10. Kozre thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    #10
    Bad news, tested game on 760gtx windows, i5 3470, 8 ram Runs ok, on i3 with 4gb and 630 gt 2gb runs on medium. optimization is worst thing in that game. I am sure rmbp and mba will hold only mininum graphics. Waiting for final version, but I think we will wait another 3 months. Game is available in steam for mac. Price is very high, can't find on piratbay.
    Shadowrun look better overall
     
  11. Janichsan macrumors 6502a

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #11
    I finally found my beta key and tested the game on my 2012 Retina MBP with the Nividia 650M. Performance really could be better: on high settings, SSAO disabled at 1440x900 (the highest resolution I can select) I get something around 15ish fps. Since the game is turn based, this doesn't really impede the gameplay, but higher framerate would be nice.
     
  12. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #12
    Thanks for clearing that up, I really thought W2 was made the same way.

    I still do believe that the final version should run well on most current mac hardware. As it's a turn based game, it should be very playable at 30+ FPS.

    I have not bought this game yet, as I won't start a game before it is content complete, but this is, for me, perhaps the most anticipated game this year.

    I'm not too afraid about the system reqs myself, as my desktop can handle everything. It would be nice to actually play it on my MBA, although with full 3d, like you explained, it probably won't cut it.
     

Share This Page