Watch your data usage on iOS6

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by Flojomojo, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. Flojomojo macrumors member

    Flojomojo

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #1
    Yesterday afternoon, I put the first iOS6 beta on my iPhone 4S, and stayed on wifi the whole time. Today, I checked my AT&T bill and found that I had pulled 2.1GB of mobile data in just over four hours! :eek:

    I didn't think my mobile network was capable of such throughput, but I think it's either a measurement error, or iOS6 not stopping me from doing iCloud restore activities over the mobile network. Either way, it seems iOS6 is to blame. AT&T seems powerless to fix these while in the active billing cycle, so I guess I will be throttled when I hit the 3G mark in a few days. :(

    Despite what the release notes say, you CAN roll back to 5.1.1 using DFU mode, which is what I did for other reasons. :apple:

    The ironic twist? My Verizon iPad could not use wifi after the update to iOS6 so I rolled that back, too. :p
     
  2. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #2
    i wonder if maps, and other diagnostics are sending back stuff to apple.
     
  3. Flojomojo thread starter macrumors member

    Flojomojo

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #3
    Yes, but that's not 2.1GB worth of data.

    Seems that some or all of my iCloud restore went over the air by mistake.

    I'm going to sit out this beta for a while, possibly until launch.
     
  4. gopnick macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #4
    My restore did that on my new iPad 3 when I bought it. iOS 5.
     
  5. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #5
    iPad 3 cannot do 2.4ghz wifi.
    It can do 5ghz, upgrade your home/office if you have dev work to do.
     
  6. maril1111, Jun 13, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012

    maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6
    Are you sure? Where did you find that?


    Because I am quite sure it should be able to do 2.4 as-well. I am nearly 100% my school network is 2.4 yet i can still connect to it
     
  7. PeezySC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    #7
    My wireless is 2.4ghz and my iPad 3 works fine. The router is a Netgear WNDR3500L with Tomato.
     
  8. Brenz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #8
    Yes it can.

    I use 2.4Ghz wifi all the time without any problems.
     
  9. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #9
    With iOS6b1 loaded?
     
  10. Brenz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #11
    Yes
     
  11. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #12
    I had this too - my 4S has pulled down about a gig of data in the last 24 hours. Time to roll back to 5.1.1...
     
  12. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #13
    The 3rd generation iPad is 2.4GHz and 5GHz compliant, on both iOS 5 and iOS 6.
     
  13. NatureX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #14
    Hey guys,
    This seems to be an incorrect amount soley on the part of the phone itself.

    When compared to my data providers actual usage it is not the same.
    Data providers actual usage is lower.

    Iphone 4S shows Cell data at 4.6GB
    Rogers Data is at 2GB. Still more than usual, but no where near the 4.6.

    Still, I would like to get some information as to how much data this new maps and siri working together is going to be. I an't even get Siri to do turn by turn, imagine what my data would really be at.
     
  14. lydster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #15
    Wifi Plus Mobile Data switches itself back on!

    I've noticed this feature automatically switches itself back on after restarting under 10A5376e (Beta 4). So any apps that have this configured will quite happily churn through your data allowance.

    I'm pretty sure this is the cause of my 2GB of data used in the past few days but am keeping an eye on it.
     
  15. Zimmy68 macrumors 65816

    Zimmy68

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #16
    This happened to me.
    I was on vacation a few weeks ago and used the turn by turn to drive about 1.5 - 2 hours to Cape Cod.
    The next morning, I get a notice that I have used 2.8 of my 3 gigs of my data plan.

    I never come close to reaching 1.5 usually and I am a heavy user.

    I quickly called AT&T and switched to the 5 gig plan for the rest of the month.
    (I'd rather have the 2 gig buffer then pay $10 and have it happen again).

    One thing that bothered me, they are supposed to warn you at something like 60%, 80%, 90% but I never got the notice until it was 90%+.

    Anyway, something was going on, so just be careful.
     

Share This Page