watchOS 2: workouts still need to be Saved?

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by tbalena, Sep 25, 2015.

  1. tbalena macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #1
    Hi all,

    I was happy to learn that, in watchOS 2, workouts done using the Workout app no longer need to be manually saved. This was an irritating little thing to remember to have to do every day.

    BUT! After upgrading and going for an open-ended outdoor run, I still get prompted to either Save or Dismiss once I end the workout! Does anyone know what's up with this?
     
  2. angle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    Would love to know the answer as well since I was super excited about that feature as well, then disappointed when I discovered that was not the case :(
     
  3. Finiksa macrumors 6502a

    Finiksa

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    It still gives you a save prompt, if you ignore it or switch apps the workout will be automatically saved.
     
  4. Cremerhm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Uhm, about the workoutsavingoption....where can I see my previous work-outs? I would like to see a detailed view of my runs: time, average pace, average speed, heart-rate and splits. Is this possible?
     
  5. Finiksa macrumors 6502a

    Finiksa

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    You can't on the watch, you need to view them in the Activity app on your iPhone. For what you want you might want to try something like Strava or Runtastic. I haven't used them recently so I'm not sure if they're 2.0 apps yet and will do what you want.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    I noticed that my previous work out, just as I was embarking on my new one, didn't need to get saved.

    A nice feature to be sure :)
     
  7. Cremerhm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  8. masands macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    #8
    Just export your data to Runtastic. Much better anyway.
     
  9. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #9
    I'm a little surprised everyone is taking so long. I thought Nike+ would be right out the gate since it has a relationship with Apple. Runtastic seems to be the only 3ed party native fitness app so far but it is very buggy and unusable.
     
  10. Cremerhm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #10
    Indeed, it's weird that they haven't gone native yet...hope they will soon (Runkeeper, Whatsapp).

    Runtastic sounded promising, but I've read it's very buggy..
     
  11. pahart12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11
    I tried Runtastic yesterday and it didn't work. The first mile was off by .15 miles. When it said I was at mile 3 the watch was stuck on 1.2 miles. I stopped running and tried to get the watch to catch up but it froze up. I finally rebooted the watch and used the workout app for the final three miles. I hope they fix it.
     
  12. BlueMoon63 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    #12
    Probably because Apple said they still have a bug with native apps. I assume we will see an update next week.
     
  13. HopefulHumanist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #13
    The bug was with the GM and was fixed prior to the public release on Monday.
     
  14. BlueMoon63 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    #14
    No, this is new. I think someone even posted it here. There is still a problem with crashing or not loading. Not sure how wide spread this is but there are some issues and I am hoping for faster performance as well.
     
  15. HopefulHumanist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #15
    My mistake then. I didn't know there was another one. I, too, was disappointed with the performance of native apps.

    Fingers crossed for next week then!
     
  16. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #16
    Better to get it right. However I just run 7 miles in the pouring rain. Had to pause at a red light and it didn't start back (rain obscuring the screen and....). Realized about a mile later. This has happened several times now. Will be glad ti use Nike+. It has the BEST auto pause of the many apps I have tested. It is even better than my Garmin 620 watch and a several other watches I have tested, including the Nike Watch.
     
  17. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #17
    How does the watch know your excercise is over?
     
  18. Finiksa macrumors 6502a

    Finiksa

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #18
    It doesn't. You need to hit stop in the Workout app.
     
  19. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #19
    As I have posted in other similar treads, there needs to be a Resume or Back next to the Save. Then Save would not seem redundant. I have accidentally hit End on several runes when I meant to hit Resume and this means starting a new run in order to keep going.

    Of course looking forward to the Nike+ native app. My problem will be solved and Nike+ has an excellent auto-pause.
     

Share This Page