Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pawprint1125

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 3, 2019
Hi folks,

Newbie here. I have a 13", 2017 MBA, and did something stupid. Never attached my silicone keyboard cover, and paying the price now. I spilled a some club soda on the keyboard. Shut it off, tried to get all of the moisture out, put a fan on it for 3 days. Moment of truth a little while ago, turned it on (I'm on it now).

It looks like the battery is fried. It works on AC only, remove the adapter and the machine goes dead. Battery percentage is stuck at 48%. Seems to work otherwise. I'm a pretty handy guy, already saw the youtube video on replacing the battery, and I'm also not given to take it into Apple. A job downsize has me trying to hold onto my pennies.

Should I wait a little while, perform some other hocus pocus to it. Any possibility of it coming back from the dead? Any other recommendations?

Would hate to have to buy a $100 Chromebook to replace this!

Thanks in advance.

Audit13

macrumors 604
Apr 19, 2017
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Although the MacBook may work now, I recommend disassembling everything, clean all areas with our products isopropyl alcohol, leave it apart for a few days, then reassemble. As the club soda dries, the residue can start to affect the components to the point where the MacBook developes severe issues.

I don't know how much liquid was spilled into the MacBook or the areas that the liquid reached but, if it was enough to fry the battery, I would not use it until I examined all areas of the logic board, especially the area of the board facing the backlight.

My recommendation may seem rather extreme but I've come across enough MacBooks that have been exposed to liquid that stopped working weeks or months later due to corrosion.

Reactions: Howard2k

AZhappyjack

macrumors G3
Jul 3, 2011
Happy Jack, AZ