Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jamesapplemac

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2010
hello,

I'm new to Mac and have both Windows 7 and Snow Leopard on my Macbook. I didn't like the idea of itunes ripping all my music so decided to buy a CD ripping product. I couldn't find a mac CD ripper, so I bought Xilisoft CD Ripper and have ripped some CD's to my Windows 7 and want to bring them over to my Mac.

To have uncompressed audio for now all rips were Wav. format. After not seeing any tags, I got a little concerned because I want to sort my songs on itunes. I used NCH stamper to tag all my songs, but my Mac still didn't recognise them and worse it won't let me edit tags in itunes.

I have since read a little about wavs and tags, and I think that wavs don't hold tags, but that software the plays the songs do....is that correct??? If someone can explain wavs tags on mac's/pc's to me it would be much appreciated.

So if anyone can tell me how I can tag my current wavs on the mac (specifically so I can see them in itunes)?

Also will a product called "tuneup" help me in my quest? and worth buying?

Thanks, any help is much appreciated

newuser2310

macrumors regular
Feb 16, 2010
erm... itunes has a wav encoder up to 48,000khz

You can edit the tags after you add the tune into itunes. Right click > get info > then add the info you want.

Attachments

• Screen shot 2010-04-19 at 18.29.30.png
    Screen shot 2010-04-19 at 18.29.30.png
    66.1 KB · Views: 206

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
hello,

I'm new to Mac and have both Windows 7 and Snow Leopard on my Macbook. I didn't like the idea of itunes ripping all my music so decided to buy a CD ripping product. I couldn't find a mac CD ripper, so I bought Xilisoft CD Ripper and have ripped some CD's to my Windows 7 and want to bring them over to my Mac.