WD 500gb doesn't work with PATA in MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Net-Monkey, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. Net-Monkey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
    My MBP's config:
    MacBook Pro
    MacBookPro3,1
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    2.4 GHz
    8600M GT 256MB

    Just bought a drive bay and insert my new 500gb hdd into it but won't work. then I change the old 250gb fujitsu and it works perfectly.
    the 500gb wd works fine when i put it into the external usb case and plug it into the usb.
    any buddy hv any idea wat's wrong with it?
    thx!
     
  2. recon731 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #2
    Kinda confused about what you are asking. If you bought a 500GB PATA drive, it will not work INSIDE your MBP. Macbook Pros are SATA.
     
  3. uicandrew macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #3
    the old ATA drives (PATA) maxed out in size at around 120gb.

    the difference is THICKNESS of the hard drive. some are 1, 2, or even 3 platters.

    i think the max hard drive thickness is 9mm or so, while the 500gb is 12mm.

    i don't know the exact numbers, but i don't have to do all the work for you.

    also, even between the different macbook pros, there might be a difference in the thickness allowed because one size is thicker than the other.
     
  4. Net-Monkey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    sorry for making everyone confuse.

    I just bought a 500gb(SATA2 9.5mm 2 platters) to replace my optical drive(PATA)
    With a drive bay(SATA to PATA), it only works with my old HDD(250gb fujitsu) but not the new 500gb, MBP couldn't even detect it.
    is it something about the power? that's the only reason i can think of.
     
  5. recon731 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #5
    PATA actually maxes out at 144 Petabytes (1 PB is 1024 Terabtytes)

    The Macbook Pros can fit 9.5mm high drives. Which there are a few makes of 500GB 2.5" of that size.

    As far as the actual question at hand. I have no experience with drive bays in the optical slot, and have no idea as to the problem.

    My recommendation, if the orginal hdd works in the drive bay, then put the 500 in the original hd spot and the 250 in the drive bay.
     
  6. Net-Monkey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    That would be the best solution if I did not buy the vertex 30gb ssd.
    now i put the 250gb in the drive bay and use the 500gb as usb external drive.
    not quite my plan but no other solution yet.
    thanks to all!:rolleyes:
     
  7. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
  8. Net-Monkey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    yes i did.
    it worked perfectly as an external usb drive.
    :(
     

Share This Page