WD Blue HHD not working on my mac

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by MOOLAHMINECRAFT, Apr 3, 2016.

  1. MOOLAHMINECRAFT macrumors newbie

    MOOLAHMINECRAFT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    #1
    I couldn't boot or even access my WD HHD i need help. BTW it has windows files on it was trying to run it on mac:) Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 10.34.49 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 10.30.24 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 10.30.48 PM.png
     
  2. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
  3. MOOLAHMINECRAFT thread starter macrumors newbie

    MOOLAHMINECRAFT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    #3
    not working my computer didn't even show it and it wasn't in the paragan app either
     
  4. richard2 macrumors regular

    richard2

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
  5. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #5
    Paragon only shows systems but is e cel lent mounting a drive if it is formatted NTFS so would need to install, restart, go to DU first.

    Used it since it came out and always supported and upgraded.

    May want to do a safe boot after untangling uninstalling what you had before.
     
  6. MOOLAHMINECRAFT thread starter macrumors newbie

    MOOLAHMINECRAFT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    #6
    it is it was from an old pc and was already running win10
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    ^ ^
    This...

    What does Windows call that? Bitlocker?
    Is the hard drive visible if you connect to a Windows PC?
     
  8. MOOLAHMINECRAFT thread starter macrumors newbie

    MOOLAHMINECRAFT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    #8
    thats the problem my pc is broken...
     
  9. wlossw macrumors 6502a

    wlossw

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    Or, just a Windows encrypted drive. (Or, the PC is broken, and took the hard drive down, too! :D )
    Seems unlikely that you will do much with that drive, except on the computer on which it was originally installed.
    This is NOT a Mac, that will accept most any system install that you will throw at it, as long as the hardware is compatible.
    Your hard drive won't really work to boot any other computer, and if it was an encrypted (bitlocker) drive, then you would have to find out how to access the drive.
    I think you can't do it from your Mac, unless that Windows 10 system was originally installed using your Mac as the booting hardware.
     
  11. richard2 macrumors regular

    richard2

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #11
    It should be possible to access a BitLocker-encrypted disc on a Mac by installing Windows using a hypervisor (such as VMware Fusion) or Boot Camp.
     
  12. MOOLAHMINECRAFT thread starter macrumors newbie

    MOOLAHMINECRAFT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    #13
    would virtualbox work?
     
  13. richard2 macrumors regular

    richard2

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #14
    Yes. :)
     
  14. aldrinjtauro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #15
    ASMT? Sounds like an Anker SATA to USB device. Make sure you're using the power adapter and it's working properly.
     
  15. MOOLAHMINECRAFT thread starter macrumors newbie

    MOOLAHMINECRAFT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    #16
    it is working...
    --- Post Merged, Apr 7, 2016 ---
    how would i use it on vb?
     
  16. aldrinjtauro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #17
    Those Anker SATA readers don't allow your computer full access to the drive, so things like SMART tests won't work. If the computer sees the ASMT device but not the drive, that means either the unit isn't getting enough power to spin the drive stably, or the SATA connection isn't working properly. There's isn't really a way for a drive to not be compatible with a computer, since they use standardized connections. Unless of course it's using a SAS standard or something.
     
  17. richard2 macrumors regular

    richard2

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #18
    Send me a private message once you've installed Windows and I'll try to help you.
     
  18. MOOLAHMINECRAFT thread starter macrumors newbie

    MOOLAHMINECRAFT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    #19
    it is al
    it is already on the drive it has already been used on another computer
     
  19. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #20
    Maybe I am wrong here, but - I don't think that your Windows boot drive will successfully boot up on anything except through the computer that originally installed it.
     
  20. MOOLAHMINECRAFT thread starter macrumors newbie

    MOOLAHMINECRAFT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    #21
    i think ur right but if i cant do that is it possible to back up the data and format it so i can store data into it?
     
  21. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #22
    Yes, and you will need to discover some method that works to do that...
    First, start with a different enclosure (it may be faulty), or try connecting to a PC running Windows.

    MAYBE - your old PC failed because the hard drive stopped working (and, the hard drive is simply dead, or nearly dead)

    If you can access the drive through another enclosure, or a different computer - then backup your files/data to another external drive.
    If none of that helps, and your hard drive continues to not be accessible (it may simply be a failed hard drive, and you may then need to spend big money to recover your files), then it's just time to move on. Replace the hard drive with one that works.
     
  22. richard2, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016

    richard2 macrumors regular

    richard2

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #23
    It's possible to create an image of a disc and then boot it on a virtual machine (VM), but, in this case, I think it would be easier to do the following:

    1. Create a VM.
    2. Install Windows on the VM.
    3. Connect the external disc to the VM.
    4. Unlock the external disc.
    5. Copy the contents of the external disc to another device.

    I'm assuming MOOLAHMINECRAFT doesn't have access to another computer.
     
  23. MOOLAHMINECRAFT, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016

    MOOLAHMINECRAFT thread starter macrumors newbie

    MOOLAHMINECRAFT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    #24
    sort of..... i have access to a broken one lel (motherboard is broken too expensive) also didnt work
     
  24. MOOLAHMINECRAFT thread starter macrumors newbie

    MOOLAHMINECRAFT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    #25
    i just dual boot windows on my mac now what do i do?
     

Share This Page