WD External HDD help

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by michial, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. michial macrumors 6502

    michial

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #1
    I bought and filled up a 2tb HDD while using my Dell Windows PC. I just bought an iMac and want to hook up the HDD but when I click on the DMG the WD Smartware window pops up indicating there is no writable partition available and will not show any of the audio/video files on the HDD.

    I really dont want to have to buy another 2GB HDD, format it for mac and then transfer it all onto it.

    Is there a workaround of any sort to retain what is on there and somehow create a partition or something for it to work?
     
  2. gsahli macrumors 6502a

    gsahli

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    You should at least have read-only access to the files on the HDD out of the box. Something is wrong.

    B
     
  4. michial thread starter macrumors 6502

    michial

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #4
    I downloaded the file what do I do with it.

    Yes when I click on the hdd it reads and shows up but nothing within the hdd. just the smartware and the manuals etc
     
  5. michial thread starter macrumors 6502

    michial

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #5
  6. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #6
    i think WD external drives have two partitions, one for their software/recovery partition and the other for your data. check the other partition that shows up.
     
  7. michial thread starter macrumors 6502

    michial

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #7
    It asked me which disk to install it onto and I tried to install it on the externall hdd disk but said it could not. It had tobe installed on a disk running Mac OS
     
  8. michial thread starter macrumors 6502

    michial

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #8
    Im new to mac so forgive me. On the desktop it shows the HDD and then the wd smartware
     
  9. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #9
    which HDD? the one inside your Mac? if so im not sure. or the other partition on your external? then the data is in there.
     

Share This Page