WD MyBook (Velociraptor) Duo disk replacement

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by G-nius, Sep 5, 2014.

  1. G-nius macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    #1
    Hi,

    Has anyone with a WD MyBook Duo Thunderbolt enclosure tried replacing the original disks?

    I'd like to know if they are recognized and working with WD'S software? Functioning Raid 1? If not with WD's software, maybe with OS X's disk utility?
     
  2. TechpumpkinWD macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #2
    Hello,

    Changing the drives that are in the enclosure should not affect it's performance. Usually one would replace a drive when it develops a fault. As this is a RAID 1 array, you should replace the drive you need and then it will start to rebuild automatically. Once the rebuild is complete you can continue using it as normal.

    You can have a look at this WD knowledge base Answer* http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/8644
     
  3. G-nius thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    #3
    Uhm yeah, thanks for your reply. I am aware of the different RAID types etc. so perhaps I wasn't completely clear in my previous post.

    What I would like to know is if someone has tried to replace the disks with non-WD disks or non-Velociraptor WD disks, ... They state "only replace with Velociraptor" on the unit but want to know if other disks will work too.

    My guess is they work but not with the supplied software. Therfore the added question of using OS X built-in disk utility to manage the disks, create a RAID and what not. If there are any issues, problems, ...
     
  4. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #4
    After two weeks and no valid replies...I think you have your answer :)

    Try it yourself and report back to us :)

    Personally, I wouldn't use WD's software in any case... it's been known to cause problems when there were updates around the 10.8.5 mark... people getting data corruption.
     
  5. G-nius, May 18, 2015
    Last edited: May 18, 2015

    G-nius thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    #5
    As a follow-up to my own question:

    Other disks are recognized, raid possible with Disk Utility. WD's utility only complained with a "incompatible disk detected" message or something like it. Didn't bother really testing functionality of WD's utility further.

    I'm currently (temporarily) using it with a 120GB SSD and a regular 500GB notebook hard drive until I make up my mind about my back-up strategy and file storage usage.

    I'm using these cheap 2.5 inch to 3.5 inch SATA adapters (in case link goes down, keywords: "2.5. 3.5 converter bracket" & check worldwide shipping) from the reputable Chinese brand Seatay, since other similar adapters found locally where easily 2 - 3 times as costly (I admit: I'm cheap).

    The SATA connectors line up perfectly though the thread of the included screws is different from the screws used to secure the Velociraptors. I followed the cheap route again and used a few pieces of electrical wire shielding (with the actual wires removed) to slip over two of the included screws to mimic the original WD screws. This way there even is some dampening although not strictly necessary.

    I had to file the edges of the sheet metal to make the adapters a little less high, otherwise they wouldn't slip in the enclosure easily (one didn't fit at all). Sanded them down to make the edges dull and now they fit perfectly.

    Since the warranty was expired on my unit, I also cut the sheet metal in front of the fan hoping to reduce the noise a little when it spins up. I can only hear it briefly during power up, then it starts spinning for a few seconds but it stops quickly and the noise is not loud at all.
    Apart from that, the only noise it makes is when Time Machine spins up the 500GB disk (hardly annoying, but still) and the AC adapter making those typical electrical squealing noises (very annoying when it is quiet, probably gonna have to replace that one).

    Now, if only those 1TB SSD's weren't so pricey ...
     

Share This Page