WD scorpio black HD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hasek3139, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. hasek3139 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #1
    its a 500gb @ 7200rpm

    just installed it and runs great

    some ppl complained of vibration and noise from the HD

    but i have NONE of those complains

    its super fast and quiet

    the installation was very easy and after installation i put in the SL dvd and restored from previous backup on my time machine, and it was like i never switched HDs!

    i just thought id share with all of you!
     
  2. bamf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #2
    Glad to hear it's working for you. I've got the Scorpio Blue (640GB), and it's working like a champ for me too.
     
  3. Covart Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Location:
    Europe
  4. djasterix macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #4
    Good to hear that, I'm getting a 640Gb too...
     
  5. MonkeyET macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Location:
    Coachella, CA
    #5
    I have been contemplating this drive as well. Do you think the method you took, replace then restore from time machine, would be better than getting an external housing, cloning the drive, then making the switch? Everywhere I have read suggests the latter so I am interested what would be best.
     
  6. djasterix macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #6
    Clone the drive and then make the switch, that's best IMO...
     
  7. hasek3139 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #7
    my way was super easy and super fast

    all u need is a 00 phillips head and torx 6 screw driver

    when u take out/replace the HDD just pop on the install dvd wether it be leopard or snow leopard...which ever was on ur old HDD

    go thru normal set up process of installing then when its done installing which took me bout 30 mins...it asks if u wanna restore from backup... select that and BOOM ur done
     
  8. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #8
    hmm.. I wonder what hard drive is in my external Western Digital My Passport Studio. I have the 500gb one.

    Assuming the next MacBook Pro I get is the one w/ the 320gb hard drive (Debating on jumping to the higher end 15" MBP w/ the 500gb and other things), I was thinking about one day taking the external apart and putting the hard drive in my comp.

    Looking at the packaging, it's WDMT5000TN (order) and model (WD5000MT-00).
     
  9. ViveLeCorn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Location:
    BROOKLYN!
    #9
    Just upgraded my HD too... I was thinking of doing my upgrade from my WD Scorpio Blue 500GB drive to this one you're all speaking of. I upgraded (and thus took my chance) to the Seagate Momentus XT 500GB and it's running very superb so far. But if the Momentus XT fails as others say, I will definitely hit up the internet for a WD Scorpio Black. Thanks for your report though!
     
  10. andymodem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #10
    Upgraded my 320GB Scorpio Black to the 500GB version. Both are very good drives. Damn lossless files taking up so much space. :rolleyes:
     
  11. Gabriel GR macrumors 6502a

    Gabriel GR

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #11
    Plus it's got 5 years warranty while the new Scoprio Blue models only come with 2.
     
  12. MonkeyET macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Location:
    Coachella, CA
    #12
    Can you do this? I was thinking it would be pretty easy. I suppose that most of the externals will only be 5400 RPM? I had to look around for a 7200 RPM external with firewire in order to start using ProTools.
     
  13. bamf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #13
    Yes, that will work. It's just a 2.5" drive in those little enclosures anyway. It will most likely be a 5,400 RPM low power drive as well (since they use only a single USB connection to do power and data).
     

Share This Page