"We have no clue where you Mac was built"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by clearyjp, May 18, 2010.

  1. clearyjp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    I picked up a Macbook Pro 17" i5 Glossy about a month ago, and was curious as to where it was manufactured. I went to http://www.appleserialnumberinfo.com and copied my serial number from the System Profiler, but it says "We have no clue where your Mac was built".

    Any ideas?
    P.S I deleted the last 4 digits of the serial number from the pic.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. green86 macrumors 6502

    green86

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    I've only had my i7 for three weeks and it knows where mine was built.

    However I just noticed that it says our machines have 1 fan, but it actually has two.
     
  3. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
  4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #5
    It was built in China designed in California. This isn't new.
     
  5. green86 macrumors 6502

    green86

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    Because he want's to know where his mac was made?:confused::confused:
     
  6. clearyjp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    It says mine has 2 fans, does yours say it only has 1?

    From what I've read, not all Apple products are manufactured in China.
     
  7. stefan1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #8
    well at least we know for a fact that they're disassembled in Vietnam.
     
  8. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #9
    Just China. Like I said, doesn't matter.
     
  9. SOLLERBOY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Download coconut identity card. that will tell you.
     
  10. green86 macrumors 6502

    green86

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #11
    Go away. Yes, it says mine only has one.
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    Not all Apple products, but all MacBook Pros are.
     
  12. ubestbsteppin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    #13
    Releax shdw, some people would actually like to help him with his question instead of trolling.

    I'd recommend Coconut Identity as well. It should tell you the country of origin.
     

Share This Page