Weather complication location not updating

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by Pagemakers, Dec 6, 2017.

  1. Pagemakers macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #1
    i travel a lot and I find the weather complication does not update to my location 90% of the time if I have been in flight mode.

    All settings are correct.

    If I toggle location services on a off a few times or generally fiddle around it starts to work again until the next time I travel.

    Was fine on my series 0.

    Problem has only manifested itself since getting series 3.

    Anybody else having the same problems?
     
  2. harlenmm77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    #2
    I use accuweather for my series 2 weather complication. It almost never has the correct location for me unless I open the app on the watch. Never used to be that way.
     
  3. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #3
    I’m using the default Apple one. Used to work.
     
  4. 3eastie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #4
    Same here. I have been in contact with Apple support and they said engineering was aware of the problem. I just updated to 4.2 and haven’t yet tested it out to see if fixed.
     
  5. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #5
    Just landed back in Manchester from the Ukraine. My watch is still showing Ukrainian weather as my current location!

    The weather app on my phone shows Manchester. The phone and the watch have stopped talking to each other. Definitely a bug.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 6, 2017 ---
    4.2 Doesn’t fix it
     
  6. 3eastie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #6
    Make sure to let Apple know. The more people they hear from the harder they will work on it.
     
  7. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #7
    I have indeed several times. You are very optimistic about Apple. It took them 3 years of numerous emails, calls and messages to finally get ios text replacements fixed!
     
  8. bland1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    #8
    Had this problem with the default app. Switch to Carrot weather and it seems fairly accurate.
     
  9. BigMcGuire Contributor

    BigMcGuire

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #9
    I use WeatherUnderground - seems to be working for me. Haven't used the stock one tho.
     
  10. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #10
    For me the problem only manifests itself after flight mode.

    The location seems to update when I move from place to place if I don’t go into flight mode inbetween.
     
  11. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #11
    It’s March and it’s still not reliably working.

    Pretty much sums up Apple today.
     
  12. BigMcGuire Contributor

    BigMcGuire

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #12
    Do you all think it is cost? I know WU has gone downhill big time over the last year. This month I started having problems with WU and my Apple Watch so I moved to CARROT. CARROT said it costs about $10/year to afford the AW asking for updates some 48 times a day. Think it costs Apple to do the same?

    But yeah kinda frustrating to see this (agreed @ above post).
     
  13. Dario69 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    #13

    Isn’t the stock weather app being fed by The Weather Channel data? While nothing is free I would think TWC benefits from this arrangement just as much as Apple. I am thinking this update issue is connected to the problem with the stock widget app not updating in a timely fashion, if at all. In this case the location isn’t updating fast enough. I have noticed the widget also showed older location data prior to using the latest beta. It much more consistent now.
     
  14. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #14
    Let’s hope it’s fixed in the beta. I travel a lot and the watch complication is almost always wrong unless I’ve been in the same place for hours or days.
     
  15. LostAggie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
  16. mrwilly25 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    #16
    I just traveled to Orlando from Denver over the weekend and then back to Denver. The weather on the watch updated to the current location when I took it out of Airplane Mode (phone first, then watch). The watch would then keep updating the weather as usual with no issues.

    iPhone X 11.2.6
    AW 3 LTE, 4.2.3
     
  17. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #17
    Same setup as me. I’m off travelling right this moment. UK to India. I’ll update the thread with my findings later tonight.
     
  18. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #18
    Nope. Been here for 3 hours and it’s still showing U.K. weather.
     

Share This Page

17 December 6, 2017