Weather

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by dchan1219, Dec 28, 2014.

  1. dchan1219 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #1
    Hello there do anyone of you guys encounter a problem that the weather widget on the notification center doesn't update the location unless you go in settings and turn off locations for and turn it back on.
     
  2. ABC5S macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    Mine works very well but on occasions at first boot up it may take a few seconds longer.
     
  3. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #3
    No no issue and any of my Mac`s, all update fine

    Q-6
     
  4. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #4
    The "weather" updates fine.

    We mean the "location" doesn't change when the Mac is moved, namely the current location doesn't pop to the top of the list and have location icon attached.
     
  5. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #5
    Duh, sorry, same both retinas updated fine from Borneo to China no problems. Might be worth checking that "Weather" is ticked under Privacy, in System Preferences as that will block it. Equally I don't use a list of cities I just leave the system to update the current location.

    Q-6
     
  6. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #6
    Interesting, when you said Macs, I assumed you misread the question, didn't figure you'd travel with more than one. Sorry about that.

    The fix the OP is describing is uncheck/check in System Preference/Privacy as you described, same with me. BTW, even a restart doesn't force an update.

    Anyway, it's interesting that it works for you with no list. My travel cities are also in the list so they get duplicated when they are the current location, same thing on the iPhone. I would reduce to current location only but weather in 10.10 syncs with the iPhone and I don't want to loose my predefined locations everywhere.
     
  7. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #7
    NP; Generally have a primary and secondary as, if the system goes "dark" in the field it can be problematic to deal with and continue to work. Have just downsized one to a 13" Retina and am looking at the options for the other as hauling two 15" MBP`s around the globe can be tedious.

    Q-6
     
  8. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #8
    Just to update, am now in Romania and same as previous weather updates perfectly as long as your on WiFi.

    Q-6
     
  9. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #9
    Thanks for the input.

    I think the problem is if the location is predefined it can't be loaded dynamically. I tested with no predefined locations and it works. On the iPhone it duplicates the location, the Mac doesn't do that, it just fails.
     
  10. joedec, Jan 24, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2015

    joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #10
    For the record, 10.10.2 Beta 6 fixes this problem. If the location is predefined, they duplicate it as current, at first, then with time they purge the old defined location.
     
  11. lo100469 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Location:
    Brussels
    #11
    i have the same issue that OP is describing, location is not updating in weather when i use the notification center.

    When i checked the console there is the following error message:
    "Couldn't find a requirement string for masquerading client /System/Library/Frameworks/NotificationCenter.framework/PlugIns/com.apple.ncplugin.weather.appex"

    So i tried every suggestion listed on this post without success and found the following suggestion on another website:
    remove Library/Containers/com.apple.ncplugin.weather

    I just did and the error message is gone, now i will move to the office tomorrow and check if the issue has been fixed that way....

    ----------

    It seems that the Mac is now checking its location every time i check the notification center, looks like this works...
     
  12. lo100469 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Location:
    Brussels
    #12
    i confirm that location is now updating correctly in weather forecast...
     

Share This Page