Web Browsing is Painfully Slow

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Canoetripper, Oct 14, 2008.

1. Canoetripper macrumors newbie

I'm a Mac newbie...just bought an Intel-based iMac with Leopard installed and immediately upgraded to 2GB RAM. Browsing the web on the iMac is painfully slow as compared with my 4 year-old Windows laptop, which has all sort of junk installed on it. So slow, in fact, that my wife and kids refuse to use the iMac, and I'm beginning to wonder why I popped the $1200+ for it. I have done side-by-side tests, typing URLs into the iMac and laptop, and hitting "enter" simultaneously, and the iMac consistently takes 5 to 10 times longer to load a page (and sometimes it even times out).

I have tried connecting to my router with both Airport and Ethernet, with the same result. I have run Speedtest.net from both my iMac and laptop, and the speeds come back equal. I have loaded Firefox on the iMac, but it is just as slow as Safari.

Any thoughts on what else I can do? It seems like there must be some sort of network or protocal setting that just isn't right, but I'm not sure where to start.

Thanks in advance!

2. toolbox macrumors 68020

toolbox

Have you tried another browser? Like Firefox?

Have you tried putting in static ip assignments in? I have seen slow internet caused with incorrect ip and dns settings.

3. Canoetripper thread starter macrumors newbie

The browser wasn't the issue (I had already tried Firefox as well), but for some reason forcing an IP number seems to have done the trick--THANKS! I've never had to do that on any of my PCs...any thoughts why on the Mac?

4. Canoetripper thread starter macrumors newbie

Static IP Didn't Solve Problem