Web Design and MacBooks

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by FullerGarrett, Jun 28, 2015.

?

Which MacBook is better for web design?

1. MacBook Air (13")

25.0%
  2. MacBook Pro (13")

75.0%
  1. FullerGarrett macrumors newbie

I'm new to MacRumor Forums. In fact, I'm new to the Mac platform altogether, when I bought my first Mac Mini back in November and became a convert from Windows. And since I've used Windows 8 and seen preview videos of Windows 10, it looks like I will not be going back. I'm a high school student (Junior this year) and also run my own business.

I operate my own website design and graphic design business. Right now I do everything on my MacMini, but I want to be able to run my business on the go so I decided to buy some sort of MacBook to transfer my business files to (purpose for buying a new computer is for mobility and giving presentations, as well as isolating my business stuff from my personal files.) On a day-to-day basis I use TextEdit to code my websites (I know it is basic, but it works well), Pixelmator to create my graphics, and Pages/Numbers/and Keynote for general business purposes such as invoices, receipts, brochures, proposals, etc. I will also, from time to time, work in iMovie but that is on a rare occasion. I'll be running my entire business from the MacBook, so I need it to be powerful and efficient.

My question is: which MacBook is right for me (the MacBook Air or MacBook Pro?) I'm on a strict budget so I can't afford a high-end MacBook Pro, but I also want something that will last a few years. I like the features that come with the MacBook Pro (ForceTouch Track pad, Retina display, etc.) but my advisors have advised the MacBook Air as it meets all my needs (the web/graphic design works well on the MacMini, which is the base model late 2014 MacMini) and has a better battery life (12 hours.)