Web Design Software

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by bdauer, Mar 26, 2012.

1. bdauer macrumors newbie

I'm looking to create a professional looking page and am new to mac. I've done a bit of research on some mac web dev software and have come down to a handful of programs.

Sandvox
    RapidWeaver
    Freeway Express
    iWeb

I've heard iWeb is a bit too basic for what I'm trying to build. I'm leaning toward freeway express pro. I haven't tried using the demo's yet. I'm going to do that tonight and come back with some opinions. Like I said before I'm new to mac so I'm wondering what you mac gurus like to use to dev.

I've used dreamweaver in the past with some success, I'm looking for something a bit more user friendly that is still a powerful application.

Thanks in advance

Brian

2. HarryPot macrumors 6502a

You can't really make a professional site with those programs.

If you really want to make something good and professional, learn to hand code. Once you learn, any text program is good. I personally like Dreamweaver to hand-code sites, but have started using Coda lately, and it seems to be a cleaner interface.

3. TonyK macrumors 6502a

TonyK

There is more to a good site than hand coding HTML and JavaScript. There is the understanding of design and how it relates to a readable and usable site.

RapidWeaver with the multitude of themes is a solution the OP could use to get started and then look at the code to learn from.

If more functionality is needed then the OP will need to learn a scripting language (PHP, Perl, Ruby on Rails, etc) or hire someone for that. Most sites I've seen do not require a lot of programming and those that do are using things like shopping carts or interactivity with the user may require deeper solutions.

But to dismiss some of the tools available could lead someone to think it is not possible unless they can grok proper HTML, JavaScript and CSS.