Web design student looking to replace Oct 2012 rMBP

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by pixelzombie, Aug 17, 2014.

1. pixelzombie macrumors member

pixelzombie

Hey guys, I'm looking for advice on buying a new computer for school. I'm looking to replace my retina macbook pro 13 in. It's i5/8gb/128. I'm a web design student and do some graphic design projects on the side. Logos, web banners, etc so far. Nothing too big. For my own hobby, I sometimes draw with illustrator. I don't really photo edit too often and never do video editing. I don't game really either or do anything beyond the above mentioned and web browsing.

Originally I looked into a rMBP 15 maxed out. I've seen some threads where retina displays aren't so good for web design so I'm debating if another retina computer is a good idea. Also I'm wondering if it's overkill in specs.

My other route to go in possibly is the imac with macbook air combo. Big screen for the workload and MBA for on the go. Not sure on specs and wondering whether 8gb isn't a question or if I can get by with 4gb.

Any advice is much appreciated!

2. Meister Suspended

Meister

3. pixelzombie thread starter macrumors member

pixelzombie

Thank you for your response :)

I saw that thread and it seems for the first section, the only thing on the 8gb list is Photoshop. Sometimes I use that and Illustrator at the same time. With the other section in that thread, I scored a 9 so it's in middle---can be done but 8gb isn't a bad idea. I might lean toward the imac/macbook air combo and do 8gb for imac and 4gb for macbook air.

4. Meister Suspended

Meister

sounds like a good plan! :)

5. thetechfixer macrumors 6502

thetechfixer

I would go with Atleast 8GB since I had 4 in my MacBook Pro and even for basic things it was not really cutting it, especially for something like Photoshop. Just go the safe route with 8

6. mlody macrumors 6502a