Web designer: MacBook vs MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by virtual, Apr 10, 2009.

1. virtual macrumors member

I need a laptop to take to take to-and-fro our work office (I am a Web designer and the most intensive app I use is Photoshop CS3 (Not 4) and will not be playing games), and have narrowed my options down to a MacBook or MacBook Pro. I would buy using my education discount selecting the 2.4GHz on both models and upgrading the RAM to 4GB:

MacBook - £1,080
    MacBook Pro - £1,300

Now, I don't care about the extra 2" of screen or the fact that it is a better screen - I would be using an external monitor (plus the MacBook screen is good enough for me).

So, the only difference would be the graphics card. I would probably also upgrade the HDD to a 7200 RPM which is only available on the MBP. So here is my situation:

1) The 9600M GT in tests only seem to be a bit better than the integrated 9400M - so would it make much difference for me? (I'm not concerned about the RAM - I'll have 3.75GB free)

2) Would the 7200 HDD make much difference to me?

3) Is the extra £220 worth it to me all-in0all, do you think?

Thanks very much!

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

There is almost zero reason for you to get the Macbook Pro if you don't care about the screen. The Macbook will be able to handle CS just fine. A 7200 RPM drive also will not really make that much difference since most of your files are going to be fairly small to begin with.

3. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13

I don't think you need 4GB RAM or a 2.4GHz processor. I have a 2.0GHz MacBook with 2GB RAM and I do very similar work to you. My computer handles it great.

There is no real reason to buy the 2.4GHz MacBook. It has a slightly faster processor and a slightly larger hard drive as well as a backlit keyboard. However, it's £200 more expensive for those tiny extras. Not worth it in my opinion.