Web Dev 13 or 15 rMBP refurbished

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by curtoise, Jul 30, 2014.

1. curtoise macrumors 6502a

Hi folks I'm in need of some advice, I'm in New York city visiting my family this week and I'll go to the fight ave store tomorrow to get a new rMBP.

My main computer now is a Early 2011 MBP with 16GB RAM and a 256 Samsung 840 Pro SSD.

My main job is web development and I use Coda 2 and similar software for creating and editing code constantly.

In my office at home I have this 2011 MBP hooked to a 27 thunderbolt but I do travel a lot and I have a MBA 2011 11' for forum support and basic e-mail, etc but every time that I need to do coding on the 11' for more than a couple of hours my eyes start bleeding and my fingers will get tired of scrolling to see all part of the screen on the tiny display.

I've never used retina on a laptop before but the screen looks gorgeous.

Due to my thunderbolt display at home I was thinking on the 8GB/256SSD refurbished and use that in the same way that I'm using my 13'' 2011 now but my question is how fast and powerful will be this machine compared to my 2011 16GB 256 SSD MBP?

I'm also contemplating the 15' base (iris) for about $300 more and I'll get quad-core but if I'll be hooking that beast to my (non retina) thunderbolt, I'm not sure if I need the 15' display unless I use that as a secondary screen and benefit from the quad core in stead of the dual core from the 13.

Also all the rMBP were refreshed this past week, anybody can guess if we will get a brand new design or update again this year or it is safer to buy now? I do not care if in 5-6 months they are updated but it will be a little annoying to get anew update in September and I'll be out of the return window.

I'll appreciate if somebody can share some opinions about my questions, maybe some forum member was in my same situation before?

Thanks!

2. fchyan macrumors newbie