Web Server on AirPort Extreme?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by PKBeam, May 17, 2016.

  1. PKBeam macrumors regular

    PKBeam

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    #1
    Is it possible to host a web server on an AE, or otherwise implement a method that lets me access files on the AE's connected hard drive from any web browser?
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    On less you want to keep your HOME account don't even try doing this. Your ISP will always say a big"NO" to home web severs!

    Now if you a business ISP account it is a different story. Do you have a business account or a static IP address?
     
  3. PKBeam thread starter macrumors regular

    PKBeam

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    #3
    it's a static IP address.
    several people I know host web servers on their PCs on personal connections, and nothing has happened.
     
  4. HenryAZ macrumors 6502

    HenryAZ

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    South Congress AZ
    #4
    It has been a while since I looked at the AEBS interface, but I don't recall seeing any capability for running a web server on the AEBS itself. What I suspect you would have to do is set up Apache on one of your Macs, where you can see the shared Volume(s) on the AEBS attached drive, and host the web server from the Mac. It is easy enough to set up a Directory on the Apache server that points to the AEBS share. For example, you could have www.example.com go straight to the AEBS Volume, or set up another URL, like aebs.example.com for the same purpose, and reserve the "www" record for an index page that doesn't hint of the AEBS access, just in case someone stumbled onto the www URL.
     
  5. solaris macrumors 6502a

    solaris

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
  6. 960design macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #6
    Do you want to run a .local webserver only accessible to those in your office or full web server? Both are possible, but you need a little more than just a router.
    As others have said, you should check with your ISP, if you are hosting to the outside. Your completely legit to host internally. You understand that many people in the world do not do the legal thing, sometimes they get caught, sometimes not. It is up to you to weigh the risk vs the penalty of the crime.
     
  7. PKBeam thread starter macrumors regular

    PKBeam

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    #7
    just on my LAN.

    I already have Xampp set up to host from my PC, but I find it sub-optimal to have to turn it on when I need it and close Skype - so I was wondering if I could do the same from my AE.
     
  8. 960design macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #8
    Change the port to something other than 80. I use MAMP on Macs and Win10 boxes for local web application development. Then you will access your local server at something like: http://pkbeam.local:8888/ or with a little extra configuration http://pkbeam.com:8888/

    The AE is does not have a server of any kind to handle the requests. So no, not from the router. Most routers cannot, they all rely on a server connected in one way or the other. You could setup a Rasberry Pi for very little: https://ubuntu-pi-flavour-maker.org/blog/ubuntu-pi-flavours-for-raspberry-pi-3/
     
  9. HenryAZ macrumors 6502

    HenryAZ

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    South Congress AZ
    #9
    OS X comes with apache already installed. You just need to edit /etc/apache2/httpd.conf to your own configuration. httpd.conf used to come read-only. I just checked mine, and it is writeable, but that may be because I changed it. If its permissions are set to -r--r--r--, just do this before you use the text editor of your choice to edit it, :
    Code:
    sudo chmod 644 /private/etc/apache2/httpd.conf
    With 10.11, you will need to disable SIP temporarily, to be able to load the apache server so it runs on boot with this command:
    Code:
    sudo launchctl load -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/org.apache.httpd.plist
    Once it is loaded and running, you can re-enable SIP, and you can make changes to the configuration and control the server (restart, etc), like this:
    Code:
    sudo apachectl stop|start|restart
    The Apache project web site has excellent documentation, if you are rusty or need some help editing httpd.conf. Apache HTTP Server Version 2.4 Documentation
     

Share This Page