WebCam

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Lucascsula, Jul 9, 2007.

  1. Lucascsula macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    #1
    Hello,

    Wy wife and I will be buying our MacBooks this coming weekend.

    We wanted to know how the Webcam works.

    Is it easy to set up? Can someone explain to me how it works?

    You guys have been very helpful!

    Thanks!
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    It comes set up. You can use it with Photo Booth or iMovie, and other programs like that, no set up required.
     
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    No setting up - its built in :)

    Apps that need it (Photobooth is included, however you can record movies with iMovie, and many other apps) automagically know its there...

    EDIT: Aargh!!! Always too late!!!
     
  4. Lucascsula thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    #4
    So, do you just open up the Webcam and type in an email address?
     
  5. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    What do you mean? Why are you typing in an email address?
     
  6. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    For webchat you can use iChat (comes with your mac) for Macs or people with AIM (you need a .Mac account, or a free AIM account). You just choose 'Add buddy' and type in their account name.

    For others on MSN, you can use Mercury...
     
  7. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #7
    Ah if you want to video chat - then you can use iChat. This is an Instant Messenging program (that comes with your Mac, all ready installed) and all you have to do is create an account and start using it.

    Only downside is you are restricted to using the AIM server with iChat.

    EDIT: Too late...:(
     
  8. Lucascsula thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    #8

    That sucks. I wanted to use my yahoo chat. That's ok. I have an AOL account too. Sounds easy then! Just add a buddy, if they have the webcam, it'll link up then.

    Thanks!
     
  9. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #9
    Even if they don't have a webcam you can do one-way video conferences.

    I really wish Apple would somehow include the MSN Server as an option when using iChat. The new version of iChat (that is being included with Leopard) looks hilarious - the video effects could be endless entertainment if you're bored.
     
  10. anothermacaddic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #10
    Its good to note here that your friends will be wowed by the picture quality of your video chat with your apple. If they are on a hp or something like that with a built in cam their quality will be MUCH lower than yours and you can at that point gloat. Even most of the external cams, even the mid priced ones (not the cheapo's) cant touch the built in apples quality of picture.
     
  11. RichL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #11
    Skype is a wonderful program to use for free video chat sessions.

    The quality of the camera, like anothermacaddic stated, will definitely wow your friends, family, or associates. Good stuff.
     
  12. SDDave2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #12
    You can use Yahoo via iChat by setting something up with "Jabber"... I have not myself done this yet... but have read other sites that detail how to do it, and supposedly it works well. Jabber is a protocol supported natively by iChat
     
  13. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #13
    correct me if this has changed, but with on older ver. of iChat your "buddy" using windows had to have a webcam attached or it wouldn't work.

    I'm not sure now that the new ver. can do oneway video chat.

    As for the picture quality, it's nice, but tha may be due also the software quality. Using a DVCam with an older PowerBook, I also get great quality that people comment on all the time.
     
  14. Lucascsula thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    #14
    Well, I can't wait to use it. My wife and I will be able to communicate Via Video Chat when we are on our respective campuses.

    I bet it's strange at first...:)
     
  15. anothermacaddic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #15
    Its changed. One way video and/or audio is supported.
     

Share This Page