Website Criticism

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by garretruh, Feb 16, 2011.

1. garretruh macrumors member

To start off, I'm a newbie web developer; so don't expect anything spectacular. Having said that, I'd like the MR community to criticize every aspect of this small website. The site is for a high school based video production company that wants to start producing for actual clients. To do that, they (we) need a visually pleasing and efficient website to attract clients. This first version was made in iWeb, but I will, in all likelihood, start from scratch using RapidWeaver and Dreamweaver. I'm hoping to incorporate all of your ideas and criticisms into the new site. Don't be afraid to tear it apart. That's what I need. Thanks in advance.

www.garretruh.com

Note: The current URL is my personal domain, so disregard that obvious disconnection.

2. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

Darth.Titan

You really need to think about optimizing your images for the web. They're all too large (KB-wise). I'm seeing images as large as 300-400KB. That's nearly half a megabyte for one picture, and your site is image heavy. The result is slow page loads.

Other than that I rather like the design. It's simple without being too simple.

3. manueld macrumors 6502

Think of this website as a portfolio for the production company. That being said, you need to focus the content of the home page to the content a visitor is going to be mostly concerned about, namely to probably see examples of your work which is what I would feature on your landing page.

Take a look at various portfolio sites, from web designers, photographers, and other production company websites.

4. garretruh thread starter macrumors member

Re:

Thanks both of you. I'll try to incorporate your ideas into the site.

@Darth.Titan