Website development & maintenance: Dreamweaver vs. Freeway? Others recs?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by benross, Apr 27, 2007.

1. benross macrumors newbie

I used Frontpage when on the PC and liked the easy to use interface. I know it has it's issues, however it was user-friendly. Now that I am (finally) back in the Mac world I want to get a new program to design and maintain my website. I am a professional photographer and am computer/software savy, however Go Live CS2 was a user-interface nightmare for me. I don't want to have to spend a lot of time learning how to use the software; I just want to use to re-build my site and be able to maintain it easily. I do e-commerce on the site, so iWeb is not an option (waaaay to elementary). I need something that is powerful enough to create a snappy site yet one that allows frequent updates and changes easily and one that doesn't take me a couple of weeks to learn to use. I have no aspirations of becoming a website developer for hire. I just want to do my own site and spend the rest of my time doing what I do (ie. photography).

Thanks in advance for your help and feedback.

2. justG macrumors member

justG

RapidWeaver and Sandvox are both template-based applications that will get you up and running quickly. RapidWeaver is the one I hear talked about more, and it seems to be universally liked (by customers looking for that type of solution). There are loads of plugins available for it that make building any kind of web site a very simple process. I'm not really familiar with Sandvox, so can't say anything about it.

If you don't mind hand-coding but are just looking for an IDE with a decent interface, try the recently released Coda. It's an all-in-one type thing like Dreamweaver, but it's not a WYSIWYG tool; it just combines a few different applications web developers frequently use (an HTML editor, a CSS editor, an FTP client, etc.).

Hope it helps.

3. elppa macrumors 68040

elppa