Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mikeyPotg

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 20, 2006
Hello all,

I have an idea for a simple (I think) social blog website that I'd like to get developed. Since I have no programming knowledge whatsoever, I was thinking of using kickstarter.com to raise money for the site.

I currently have one person working on it, but since he's a college student he's been very busy with all of his work and hasn't been able to put too much time into it.

I have a very simple graphic design in mind and already registered the domain name. I need to hire someone/people to build the site from the ground up with some basic social networking features: the ability to add/follow people, comment and even "like" posts similar to facebook, and also give it the ability to post entries to facebook. Although I have a graphic artist, I think I'd also like to hire one more.

My questions are:
How many people do you think I need to hire?
How much money should I look to raise in order to hire the people?

Consultant

macrumors G5
Jun 27, 2007
Hello all,

I have an idea for a simple (I think) social blog website that I'd like to get developed. Since I have no programming knowledge whatsoever, I was thinking of using kickstarter.com to raise money for the site.

I currently have one person working on it, but since he's a college student he's been very busy with all of his work and hasn't been able to put too much time into it.

I have a very simple graphic design in mind and already registered the domain name. I need to hire someone/people to build the site from the ground up with some basic social networking features: the ability to add/follow people, comment and even "like" posts similar to facebook, and also give it the ability to post entries to facebook. Although I have a graphic artist, I think I'd also like to hire one more.

My questions are: